Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Will the m919 get 3G in Brazil?

OP pcmp

15th June 2014, 04:50 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
This is Brazilīs top four networks frequencies;
1-Vivo
GSM-900/1800 (GPRS, EDGE)
2100 MHz UMTS, HSDPA, HSPA+
2600 MHz LTE

2-TIM
GSM-900/1800 (GPRS, EDGE)
2100 MHz UMTS, HSDPA,
2600 MHz LTE

3-Claro
GSM-900/1800 (GPRS, EDGE)
2100 MHz UMTS, HSDPA, HSPA+
2600 MHz LTE

4-Oi
GSM-1800 (GPRS, EDGE)
2100 MHz UMTS, HSDPA
2600 MHz LTE

I know LTE wonīt work, and from what I remember of Tmoīs 3G our S4 needs two bands to work (1700/2100 ?).
Can I make it work on a single 2100 band?
Or, am I really doomed and stuck with EDGE or worse?

Thanks
17th June 2014, 02:10 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Is this a stupid question?
17th June 2014, 04:47 AM   |  #3  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 872
 
2,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Its just a hard one to answer.. But you definitely won't get LTE, 3G/HSPA will probably be a hit or miss. Its not worth the gamble IMO

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
17th June 2014, 06:02 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22

Its just a hard one to answer.. But you definitely won't get LTE, 3G/HSPA will probably be a hit or miss. Its not worth the gamble IMO

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Thanks. Unfortunately I already paid to get in. Iīm in Brazil now for the world cup. I didnīt want to change my granfathered plan with tmo to get their "unlimited international data", and thinking about it, if I can get 3G with tmo over here then I can get with the local carriers. But what Iīm afraid of is that tmoīs free data is only edge as they have a page saying "Standard speeds approx. 128 Kbps (for all countries)". So it wouldnīt do me much good to change the plans anyway.

What I was hoping was that the phone would be capable of using the 2100MHz both ways or that I could flash a radio that would allow the s4 to work that way.

Iīll test the first premise at the store on Wednesday. If anybody knows about the second one, please tell.

Thanks.
17th June 2014, 06:17 AM   |  #5  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 872
 
2,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Oh I thought you lived in Brazil and was looking to get one.. And yup the standard is 2G unlimited but I think if you pay around $50 you get 5gb of high speed internet, which I guess would be 3g/hspa, don't know about LTE

Edit: there is a possibility 3g/h will work, all T-Mobile phones should support that band so hopefully it'll be able to pick it up

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
Last edited by serio22; 17th June 2014 at 06:20 AM.
19th June 2014, 07:26 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22

Oh I thought you lived in Brazil and was looking to get one.. And yup the standard is 2G unlimited but I think if you pay around $50 you get 5gb of high speed internet, which I guess would be 3g/hspa, don't know about LTE

Edit: there is a possibility 3g/h will work, all T-Mobile phones should support that band so hopefully it'll be able to pick it up

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Well, well, well... unless my phone is reporting wrong or their hspa+ is real fast here, i think I'm getting LTE in Brasil with a US phone.

As soon as I put the SIM card in, a LTE 4G sign appeared on thr top right. I couldn't believe it so I did a test with that speedtest app (oogla?) and got around 15Mbps download and around 3Mbps upload. The bad part is that the app used 50MB for test, which cost me around a buck just for the test. But it made me so happy that I think it was worth it.

So what do you think of that? Is this a real fast 3g+, or does this phone have the LTE band (4?) they use here?

There are stories about it having all the bands, and maybe the limited bands story is just FUD.

Would their sim card be able to make changes to the phone? Cause I found a new app with the carrier name installed after I put the sim in, and my phone wasn't set to allow installation from 'unknown sources'.
19th June 2014, 04:41 PM   |  #7  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 872
 
2,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcmp

Well, well, well... unless my phone is reporting wrong or their hspa+ is real fast here, i think I'm getting LTE in Brasil with a US phone.

As soon as I put the SIM card in, a LTE 4G sign appeared on thr top right. I couldn't believe it so I did a test with that speedtest app (oogla?) and got around 15Mbps download and around 3Mbps upload. The bad part is that the app used 50MB for test, which cost me around a buck just for the test. But it made me so happy that I think it was worth it.

So what do you think of that? Is this a real fast 3g+, or does this phone have the LTE band (4?) they use here?

There are stories about it having all the bands, and maybe the limited bands story is just FUD.

Would their sim card be able to make changes to the phone? Cause I found a new app with the carrier name installed after I put the sim in, and my phone wasn't set to allow installation from 'unknown sources'.

that's surprising but yes it does have band 4 LTE, good to know it works!! didn't think 2600mhz would be band 4, or it may have larger support for LTE bands, couldn't say for sure since I never go out of the country to test on my own

Edit: and what do you mean making changes to the phone?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
Last edited by serio22; 19th June 2014 at 04:43 PM.
19th June 2014, 06:18 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 52
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcmp

Well, well, well... unless my phone is reporting wrong or their hspa+ is real fast here, i think I'm getting LTE in Brasil with a US phone.

As soon as I put the SIM card in, a LTE 4G sign appeared on thr top right. I couldn't believe it so I did a test with that speedtest app (oogla?) and got around 15Mbps download and around 3Mbps upload. The bad part is that the app used 50MB for test, which cost me around a buck just for the test. But it made me so happy that I think it was worth it.

So what do you think of that? Is this a real fast 3g+, or does this phone have the LTE band (4?) they use here?

There are stories about it having all the bands, and maybe the limited bands story is just FUD.

Would their sim card be able to make changes to the phone? Cause I found a new app with the carrier name installed after I put the sim in, and my phone wasn't set to allow installation from 'unknown sources'.

If you see the 4G LTE symbol in the notification bar, then you are using 4G LTE. Kewl.

Rob

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes