Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,329 Members 38,807 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Will the m919 get 3G in Brazil?

Tip us?
 
pcmp
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default Will the m919 get 3G in Brazil?

This is Brazilīs top four networks frequencies;
1-Vivo
GSM-900/1800 (GPRS, EDGE)
2100 MHz UMTS, HSDPA, HSPA+
2600 MHz LTE

2-TIM
GSM-900/1800 (GPRS, EDGE)
2100 MHz UMTS, HSDPA,
2600 MHz LTE

3-Claro
GSM-900/1800 (GPRS, EDGE)
2100 MHz UMTS, HSDPA, HSPA+
2600 MHz LTE

4-Oi
GSM-1800 (GPRS, EDGE)
2100 MHz UMTS, HSDPA
2600 MHz LTE

I know LTE wonīt work, and from what I remember of Tmoīs 3G our S4 needs two bands to work (1700/2100 ?).
Can I make it work on a single 2100 band?
Or, am I really doomed and stuck with EDGE or worse?

Thanks
 
pcmp
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Apr 2008
Is this a stupid question?
 
serio22
Old
#3  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 652
Posts: 2,067
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston
Its just a hard one to answer.. But you definitely won't get LTE, 3G/HSPA will probably be a hit or miss. Its not worth the gamble IMO

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
pcmp
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22 View Post
Its just a hard one to answer.. But you definitely won't get LTE, 3G/HSPA will probably be a hit or miss. Its not worth the gamble IMO

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
Thanks. Unfortunately I already paid to get in. Iīm in Brazil now for the world cup. I didnīt want to change my granfathered plan with tmo to get their "unlimited international data", and thinking about it, if I can get 3G with tmo over here then I can get with the local carriers. But what Iīm afraid of is that tmoīs free data is only edge as they have a page saying "Standard speeds approx. 128 Kbps (for all countries)". So it wouldnīt do me much good to change the plans anyway.

What I was hoping was that the phone would be capable of using the 2100MHz both ways or that I could flash a radio that would allow the s4 to work that way.

Iīll test the first premise at the store on Wednesday. If anybody knows about the second one, please tell.

Thanks.
 
serio22
Old
(Last edited by serio22; 17th June 2014 at 05:20 AM.)
#5  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 652
Posts: 2,067
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston
Oh I thought you lived in Brazil and was looking to get one.. And yup the standard is 2G unlimited but I think if you pay around $50 you get 5gb of high speed internet, which I guess would be 3g/hspa, don't know about LTE

Edit: there is a possibility 3g/h will work, all T-Mobile phones should support that band so hopefully it'll be able to pick it up

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
pcmp
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22 View Post
Oh I thought you lived in Brazil and was looking to get one.. And yup the standard is 2G unlimited but I think if you pay around $50 you get 5gb of high speed internet, which I guess would be 3g/hspa, don't know about LTE

Edit: there is a possibility 3g/h will work, all T-Mobile phones should support that band so hopefully it'll be able to pick it up

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
Well, well, well... unless my phone is reporting wrong or their hspa+ is real fast here, i think I'm getting LTE in Brasil with a US phone.

As soon as I put the SIM card in, a LTE 4G sign appeared on thr top right. I couldn't believe it so I did a test with that speedtest app (oogla?) and got around 15Mbps download and around 3Mbps upload. The bad part is that the app used 50MB for test, which cost me around a buck just for the test. But it made me so happy that I think it was worth it.

So what do you think of that? Is this a real fast 3g+, or does this phone have the LTE band (4?) they use here?

There are stories about it having all the bands, and maybe the limited bands story is just FUD.

Would their sim card be able to make changes to the phone? Cause I found a new app with the carrier name installed after I put the sim in, and my phone wasn't set to allow installation from 'unknown sources'.
 
serio22
Old
(Last edited by serio22; 19th June 2014 at 03:43 PM.)
#7  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 652
Posts: 2,067
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcmp View Post
Well, well, well... unless my phone is reporting wrong or their hspa+ is real fast here, i think I'm getting LTE in Brasil with a US phone.

As soon as I put the SIM card in, a LTE 4G sign appeared on thr top right. I couldn't believe it so I did a test with that speedtest app (oogla?) and got around 15Mbps download and around 3Mbps upload. The bad part is that the app used 50MB for test, which cost me around a buck just for the test. But it made me so happy that I think it was worth it.

So what do you think of that? Is this a real fast 3g+, or does this phone have the LTE band (4?) they use here?

There are stories about it having all the bands, and maybe the limited bands story is just FUD.

Would their sim card be able to make changes to the phone? Cause I found a new app with the carrier name installed after I put the sim in, and my phone wasn't set to allow installation from 'unknown sources'.
that's surprising but yes it does have band 4 LTE, good to know it works!! didn't think 2600mhz would be band 4, or it may have larger support for LTE bands, couldn't say for sure since I never go out of the country to test on my own

Edit: and what do you mean making changes to the phone?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
rlichtefeld
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 79
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcmp View Post
Well, well, well... unless my phone is reporting wrong or their hspa+ is real fast here, i think I'm getting LTE in Brasil with a US phone.

As soon as I put the SIM card in, a LTE 4G sign appeared on thr top right. I couldn't believe it so I did a test with that speedtest app (oogla?) and got around 15Mbps download and around 3Mbps upload. The bad part is that the app used 50MB for test, which cost me around a buck just for the test. But it made me so happy that I think it was worth it.

So what do you think of that? Is this a real fast 3g+, or does this phone have the LTE band (4?) they use here?

There are stories about it having all the bands, and maybe the limited bands story is just FUD.

Would their sim card be able to make changes to the phone? Cause I found a new app with the carrier name installed after I put the sim in, and my phone wasn't set to allow installation from 'unknown sources'.
If you see the 4G LTE symbol in the notification bar, then you are using 4G LTE. Kewl.

Rob
Current Device: Samsung Galaxy S4 (US T-Mobile SGH-M919)
Current Baseband: M919UVUFNB4
Current ROM: Stock 4.4.2 KOT49H.M919UVUFNB4
Rooted: [SGH-M919] CF-Auto-Root Knox counter tripped!
WiFi Tether Fix: Quick and Dirty: Enable Tether.

Previous Device: HTC HD2 (US - T-Mobile)
Radio: 2.15.50.14
Bootloader: 4EXTRecovery
Android Launcher: Exceller Multi Booth Launcher
ROM:
NexusHD2-JellyBean-4.2.2-CM10.1 V2.1 NativeSD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more

Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more

Keep Track of How Much Your Car Truly Costs with Car Logbook

It’s a very well established fact that cars are expensive. In addition to … more

New Nvidia SHIELD Tablet OTA! Moto G 4G Gets Official CyangenMod 11 Nightlies – XDA Developer TV

The Nvidia SHIELD Tablet gets its … more