Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] MediaTek 6577 Chipset - Capable of More Than WCDMA?

OP jasonmerc

10th June 2014, 12:29 AM   |  #1  
jasonmerc's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Go ahead and try to find me...
Thanks Meter: 150
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
While looking into the Runbo X5 Chinese Anroid phone that has a MediaTek MT6577 chipset, every website listing its specifications said the phone only supports GSM for 2G, and WCDMA for 3G. I am interested in saving up to buy this phone, but the fact that this (might) only support 3G speeds of up to 384kbps, that is a real let-down for such an expensive phone (this thing can be $300 upward).

HOWEVER, when looking deeper into its specifications, this is where I noticed that the Runbo X5 has a Mediatek MT6577. When I looked up the compatible network types for the 6577 on Wikipedia, the specs chart said that this chipset not only supports plain old WCDMA 3G, but HSPA and HSPA+ as well!

So, shouldn't this mean that the Runbo X5 actually does support speeds beyond 384kbps through HSPA and HSPA+, or is there something the manufacturer does that somehow forces it to only support WCDMA?

Website listing the specifications

Wikipedia article on MediaTek. Just do a CTRL+F and type in 6577 to see what I was talking about.
Last edited by jasonmerc; 10th June 2014 at 10:35 PM.
20th June 2014, 06:10 AM   |  #2  
jasonmerc's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Go ahead and try to find me...
Thanks Meter: 150
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
*BUMP*

I have also noticed this for other phones such as the Goophone i5s. The chipset on the Wikipedia chart for MediaTek lists them compatible with HSPA, however it is only listed as WCDMA in specs.

I am beginning to think that when these manufacturers/resellers list WCDMA as a feature of a certain phone, they do not mean WCDMA like the slow 384kbps connection, they are using WCDMA referring to 3G in general (HSPA falls under the 3G category of network type). Either that or it is just some sort of translation "error", where "3G" from another language is translated to "WCDMA" in English...

Sent from my SGH-I847 using XDA Free mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
hspa, runbo
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes