Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,194 Members 41,503 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Virgin Mobile rom on Sprint Galaxy S3 phone?

Tip us?
 
payterx
Old
(Last edited by payterx; 19th June 2014 at 07:01 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 9
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Virgin Mobile rom on Sprint Galaxy S3 phone?

This S3 is on the rom right before KitKat. Can I flash a Virgin Mobile rom to it without bricking the phone? From what I can find about the S3(i'm new to this phone), flashing roms from different carriers will brick it.
 
6th_Hokage
Old
#2  
6th_Hokage's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 566
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Osos
Quote:
Originally Posted by payterx View Post
This S3 is on the rom right before KitKat. Can I flash a Virgin Mobile rom to it without bricking the phone? From what I can find about the S3(i'm new to this phone), flashing roms from different carriers will brick it.
well theres no problem flashing a sprint rom on the boost and Virgin sph-l710
my work:

Custom Splash Screen Sprint/Boost/Virgin Mobile s3 Touchwiz Roms and some AOSP Roms


current phone:
Boost Samsung Galaxy S3 running Wicked X v7.3

Past phone: latest to oldest
Samsung Galaxy Infuse 4G retired
Samsung Galaxy S 4G 3rd time around
HTC myTouch 3G slide
Samsung Galaxy S 4G 2nd time around
T-mobile myTouch
Samsung Galaxy S 4G
HTC Sensation 4G i miss you :'(
Motorola Backflip
The Following User Says Thank You to 6th_Hokage For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
joeyhdownsouth
Old
#3  
joeyhdownsouth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 162
Posts: 745
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Creole State
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6th_Hokage View Post
well theres no problem flashing a sprint rom on the boost and Virgin sph-l710
You can flash Sprint roms, but the ones that are NOT unified builds, you may have recovery errors until you remove asserts from the rom.

sent from my GS3
G2(Sprint)-stock
G3(Sprint)-stock
Galaxy S3(Sprint)-ROM:C-rom/KERNEL:dkp-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Galaxy S5(Boost)-ROM/KERNEL:M.O.A.R.-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Moto G(unlocked to CellularOne)-ROM/KERNEL:LiquidSmooth-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Note 10.1-ROM/KERNEL:Hyperdrive-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
The Following User Says Thank You to joeyhdownsouth For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
6th_Hokage
Old
#4  
6th_Hokage's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 566
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Osos
now since you can flash sprint roms on those two....can you flash the other way around????? i want to say yes but i say wait till someone else says yes or no
my work:

Custom Splash Screen Sprint/Boost/Virgin Mobile s3 Touchwiz Roms and some AOSP Roms


current phone:
Boost Samsung Galaxy S3 running Wicked X v7.3

Past phone: latest to oldest
Samsung Galaxy Infuse 4G retired
Samsung Galaxy S 4G 3rd time around
HTC myTouch 3G slide
Samsung Galaxy S 4G 2nd time around
T-mobile myTouch
Samsung Galaxy S 4G
HTC Sensation 4G i miss you :'(
Motorola Backflip
 
joeyhdownsouth
Old
(Last edited by joeyhdownsouth; 20th June 2014 at 04:00 AM.)
#5  
joeyhdownsouth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 162
Posts: 745
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Creole State
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6th_Hokage View Post
now since you can flash sprint roms on those two....can you flash the other way around????? i want to say yes but i say wait till someone else says yes or no
basically, the phones, as stock, are the same, except for the modem. like mk3 for Sprint, and mk7 for Boost. I would say you could, having to remove asserts from the rom going to Sprint phone. You may have MMS and APN issues as well.

sent from my GS3
G2(Sprint)-stock
G3(Sprint)-stock
Galaxy S3(Sprint)-ROM:C-rom/KERNEL:dkp-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Galaxy S5(Boost)-ROM/KERNEL:M.O.A.R.-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Moto G(unlocked to CellularOne)-ROM/KERNEL:LiquidSmooth-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Note 10.1-ROM/KERNEL:Hyperdrive-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
The Following User Says Thank You to joeyhdownsouth For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jdsingle76
Old
#6  
jdsingle76's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2773
Posts: 2,715
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nashville, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyhdownsouth View Post
basically, the phones, as stock, are the same, except for the modem. like mk3 for Sprint, and mk7 for Boost. I would say you could, having to remove asserts from the rom going to Sprint phone. You may have MMS and APN issues as well.

sent from my GS3
You can flash Sprint to Boost/VM and vice versa with MK3 and MK5, with no need to change or remove anything. Just flash back and forth at will. Some may require a wifi fix, which is basically just the stock kernel repacked, but other than that, and the carrier bloat and tagging, they are 100% interchangeable

Sent from my SM-G900P using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jdsingle76 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes