Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,557 Members 46,324 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] new to sony ..

Tip us?
 
strommy1966
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 145
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default [Q] new to sony ..

okay i have used odin before .. but never used flashtool ! . is there a link to download it and a tutorial on how to use it.
 
Envious_Data
Old
(Last edited by Envious_Data; 19th June 2014 at 12:33 AM.)
#2  
Envious_Data's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 663
Posts: 1,625
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Yaizu
Quote:
Originally Posted by strommy1966 View Post
okay i have used odin before .. but never used flashtool ! . is there a link to download it and a tutorial on how to use it.
Since you seem to have some knowlage this should be quite self explanitory

Aside a few things which arent mentioned
Flashmode/fastboot does not mean holding a button like flashtool asks

For Xperia Z2
fastboot = Volume Up
Flashmode=volume down

You do need drivers to be installed of which an installer of sorts can be found in the drivers folder if your on windows (fastboot, flashmode, any Z2 drivers)

Fastboot can be used to flash kernels, flashmode is used usualy to flash firmwares (commonly FTF files)

Literly any questions just ask

Sent from my D6503 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Devices:
Sony Xperia Z2

Roms:
Envi-Rom Z2/S
The Following User Says Thank You to Envious_Data For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
strommy1966
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 145
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Envious_Data View Post
Since you seem to have some knowlage this should be quite self explanitory

Aside a few things which arent mentioned
Flashmode/fastboot does not mean holding a button like flashtool asks

For Xperia Z2
fastboot = Volume Up
Flashmode=volume down

You do need drivers to be installed of which an installer of sorts can be found in the drivers folder if your on windows (fastboot, flashmode, any Z2 drivers)

Fastboot can be used to flash kernels, flashmode is used usualy to flash firmwares (commonly FTF files)

Literly any questions just ask

Sent from my D6503 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
so once i have downloaded the ftf file .. where and how do i put it ? as they are zip files i take it i extract all the files inside ? sorry i know this is probably VERY basic questions .. that's why i was wondering if there was a tutorial i could sit and read or watch to explain. im rather embarrassed about my general lack of of computer/windows knowledge.
 
Envious_Data
Old
#4  
Envious_Data's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 663
Posts: 1,625
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Yaizu
Quote:
Originally Posted by strommy1966 View Post
so once i have downloaded the ftf file .. where and how do i put it ? as they are zip files i take it i extract all the files inside ? sorry i know this is probably VERY basic questions .. that's why i was wondering if there was a tutorial i could sit and read or watch to explain. im rather embarrassed about my general lack of of computer/windows knowledge.
Once you've downloaded the FTF file (if its in a zip extract it to get your FTF) you need to put it in your firmware folder found within your flashtool folder (once you've installed flashtool)


Think there is some info at flashtool.net(official site btw)



Sent from my D6503 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Devices:
Sony Xperia Z2

Roms:
Envi-Rom Z2/S
The Following User Says Thank You to Envious_Data For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
stu_tls
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jun 2012
I used this guide

http://www.xperiablog.net/2014/06/01...a-z2-tutorial/
The Following User Says Thank You to stu_tls For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
strommy1966
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 145
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by stu_tls View Post
so i dont check any of the things like kernel or baseband or bootbundel .. i just leave them alone ?
 
stu_tls
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jun 2012
That's right

I unchecked all the data wipe at the top and didn't lose anything but still back up just in case

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes