Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,815 Members 39,319 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

2nd hand phone - almost blank screen after booting & selecting language

Tip us?
 
trein91
Old
(Last edited by trein91; 20th June 2014 at 09:37 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default 2nd hand phone - almost blank screen after booting & selecting language

Apparently the owner ran into an issue after trying to update to kit Kat with Odin. I presume he tried to flash the stock firmware since be doesnt know what root means. He says it boots up fine and you manage to get into the select language screen. But afterwards you get a sparse black screen.



Sounds fixable. I should be able Odin another rom and flash cwm, root it and custom rom etc right?
Sent from my Galaxy S3
 
Obagleyfreer
Old
#2  
Obagleyfreer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 778
Posts: 1,839
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Wellington
Looks like it's running acustom ROM at the moment.
If the owner knows how to flash firmware on a phone, why hasn't he fixed it himself?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using XDA Premium HD app
GT-I9505
 
trein91
Old
(Last edited by trein91; 19th June 2014 at 09:49 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obagleyfreer View Post
Looks like it's running acustom ROM at the moment.
If the owner knows how to flash firmware on a phone, why hasn't he fixed it himself?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using XDA Premium HD app
Um. The screenshot is of my phone showing his screenshot on gumtree.

This is his screenshot

I get what you mean though. Isn't Odin only used by users who know? Since normal users would perhaps use kies? Lol

Sent from my Galaxy S3
 
trein91
Old
(Last edited by trein91; 20th June 2014 at 08:52 AM.)
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jun 2012
Sigh. Bought the phone, for 200 though. I flashed a stock firmware via Odin. Still same screen as above. Sigh. I tried rooting it and getting Philz touch on it. Touch input does not seem to work. Loaded aosp roms and kernels onto the phone. Flashed it via Philz recovery. Gives me bootloops.


Ideas?

Sent from my Galaxy S3
 
trein91
Old
(Last edited by trein91; 20th June 2014 at 10:20 AM.)
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jun 2012


Managed to somehow install a aosp rom. Touch input doesn't work? Wtf? How do I fix it? Screen lights up fine so what's the issue?

Managed to get it linked to adb somehow. Any way I can fix the touch issue?

Sent from my Galaxy S3
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes