Post Reply

[Q] Note 3 AT&T Safestrap Partition Troubles

OP antnyhills

8th June 2014, 09:10 PM   |  #11  
Junior Member
Flag KCMO
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmead2

Im Having the same issue I cant install ANY rom they all say
E:unable to mount '/system
E:unable to mount '/systemorig

Please help!?!?

i have this issue on my stock slot in safestrap. i don't think it's even able to wipe /system. for some reason, it can't touch /system at all.

i'm googling around and came across this thread. i'll post again if i am able to find a resolution.
9th June 2014, 02:22 AM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Fayetteville NC
Thanks Meter: 46
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
If nothing else works, go back to MJ5 (link on page 1).

If that fails, bring the phone to an AT&T Device Support Center. What will most likely happen is that they'll try to reflash it, fail and replace the phone. (If evilpotatoman's MJ5 restore fails, it's usually a bad motherboard.)
17th June 2014, 12:29 PM   |  #13  
CPT Crunch's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Knoxville Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by isharted

i have this issue on my stock slot in safestrap. i don't think it's even able to wipe /system. for some reason, it can't touch /system at all.

i'm googling around and came across this thread. i'll post again if i am able to find a resolution.

I have the same problem! I achieved root yesterday (finally) and tried to install the Firenote rom. It wouldn't take, so I restored my backup to try again. But when I tried again, it wouldn't mount E:. It wouldn't even allow me to restore backup. It failed to mount every time in stock slot. Eventually, it wouldn't even let me create a slot at all!

Out of desperation, I entered recovery and wiped data, and when I booted into safestrap again, I was able to create a slot, where I installed Alliance KK to have a functioning phone. Wifi works, although it's buggy (wifi doesn't work on Dynamic 3.2). So I'm stuck.

I tried downloading safestrap again and uninstalling/installing it, hoping that would work, but it didn't. The only thing I can think of that I did wrong was that I took the micro SD card out a few times while in safestrap without properly ejecting it, but I'm not sure if that had anything to do with it.
17th June 2014, 03:43 PM   |  #14  
tylerholbrook's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 135
 
597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPT Crunch

I have the same problem! I achieved root yesterday (finally) and tried to install the Firenote rom. It wouldn't take, so I restored my backup to try again. But when I tried again, it wouldn't mount E:. It wouldn't even allow me to restore backup. It failed to mount every time in stock slot. Eventually, it wouldn't even let me create a slot at all!

Out of desperation, I entered recovery and wiped data, and when I booted into safestrap again, I was able to create a slot, where I installed Alliance KK to have a functioning phone. Wifi works, although it's buggy (wifi doesn't work on Dynamic 3.2). So I'm stuck.

I tried downloading safestrap again and uninstalling/installing it, hoping that would work, but it didn't. The only thing I can think of that I did wrong was that I took the micro SD card out a few times while in safestrap without properly ejecting it, but I'm not sure if that had anything to do with it.

Yo fire rom is mj5, read up before you go flash happy. You can't go back to 4.3 once you are on 4.4 with the 4.4 bootloader...

Sent from my SM-N900A using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to tylerholbrook For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 05:08 PM   |  #15  
CPT Crunch's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Knoxville Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerholbrook

Yo fire rom is mj5, read up before you go flash happy. You can't go back to 4.3 once you are on 4.4 with the 4.4 bootloader...

Sent from my SM-N900A using XDA Free mobile app

Doh! Sorry! That explains a lot.Would that have screwed up my stock slot in safestrap?
20th June 2014, 01:41 PM   |  #16  
CPT Crunch's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Knoxville Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by isharted

i have this issue on my stock slot in safestrap. i don't think it's even able to wipe /system. for some reason, it can't touch /system at all.

i'm googling around and came across this thread. i'll post again if i am able to find a resolution.


I had this same problem until yesterday, I followed the instructions found here . I was able to restore my phone back to KK goodness, root, install busybox and safestrap, then flash a rom to my (previously untouchable) root slot. It worked perfectly
The Following User Says Thank You to CPT Crunch For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes