Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Root Problems

OP Azzair113

19th June 2014, 10:41 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 23
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Right now im on 4.4.2 NB4 and i rooted using cf auto root by chainfire or i thought it was rooted everytime i open up titanium backup it gives me the error that my phone isnt rooted so when i used root checker it said i wont rooted but i still had superuser su and every other root app i had showed that i was rooted with superuser popping up asking to grant root permission so im confused on whats wrong why isnt it showing that im rooted.I've also tried to use cf auto root to see if i can root it again and its still doing the same thing. Would I be able to update to NE6 using odin 3.07 and put ne6 md5 tar in PDA without losing data but wouldnt I have to first restore my phone back to stock or i can try while being rooted and update it to ne6 i dont want to lose data.... If i update to ne6 will i be able too root using towelroot by geohot?
20th June 2014, 01:50 AM   |  #2  
Misterjunky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bakersfield, California
Thanks Meter: 3,104
 
5,358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up re: titanium backup - root
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzair113

Right now im on 4.4.2 NB4 and i rooted using cf auto root by chainfire or i thought it was rooted everytime i open up titanium backup it gives me the error that my phone isnt rooted so when i used root checker it said i wont rooted but i still had superuser su and every other root app i had showed that i was rooted with superuser popping up asking to grant root permission so im confused on whats wrong why isnt it showing that im rooted.I've also tried to use cf auto root to see if i can root it again and its still doing the same thing. Would I be able to update to NE6 using odin 3.07 and put ne6 md5 tar in PDA without losing data but wouldnt I have to first restore my phone back to stock or i can try while being rooted and update it to ne6 i dont want to lose data.... If i update to ne6 will i be able too root using towelroot by geohot?

I read your post very carefully and you must have perhaps an OLD version of Titanium.
If all your root apps work, and new ones popup asking for permission then there is
something wrong with the titanium backup.

If your titanium backup is the newest one available then you can try to go into the main
phone setting and go to "application manager" and find Titanium Backup then click on
"clear data" and "clear cache" then re-boot the phone, see if that fixes it for you.

You can also go to recovery (twrp or cwm/phils) and find the option of "fix permissions",
that might also fix it.

Good luck!
Last edited by Misterjunky; 20th June 2014 at 01:52 AM.
20th June 2014, 04:18 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 23
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterjunky

I read your post very carefully and you must have perhaps an OLD version of Titanium.
If all your root apps work, and new ones popup asking for permission then there is
something wrong with the titanium backup.

If your titanium backup is the newest one available then you can try to go into the main
phone setting and go to "application manager" and find Titanium Backup then click on
"clear data" and "clear cache" then re-boot the phone, see if that fixes it for you.

You can also go to recovery (twrp or cwm/phils) and find the option of "fix permissions",
that might also fix it.

Good luck!



Thanks will try but can i update to NE6 with odin and update my phone without losing data.
20th June 2014, 04:25 AM   |  #4  
theErock's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Covina
Thanks Meter: 31
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
I'm might be off here, but do you have the latest version of busy box? I had a similar problem not too long ago.

Sent from my XT912 using XDA Free mobile app
20th June 2014, 04:35 AM   |  #5  
toastido's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Huntsville, AL
Thanks Meter: 665
 
730 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Also, go into supersu and see if titanium has a red mark next to it. If it does, then it wasn't allowed root. Simple fix: tap it's entry, change access to grant, hit save.

Sent from my leanKernel 3.0 powered stock 4.4.2 (NE6) SM-N900T
20th June 2014, 05:29 AM   |  #6  
Misterjunky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bakersfield, California
Thanks Meter: 3,104
 
5,358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up re: loose data
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzair113

Thanks will try but can i update to NE6 with odin and update my phone without losing data.

If you have a titanium backup folder in your internal sdcard then
with a file explorer check the properties of that folder to be sure
that you do have titanium backups there. Then copy the entire
folder to external sdcard in the phone OR with a usb cable to
your computer.

That way you can always copy it all back after you odin flash
the official Samsung N900T NE6 firmware.
I already forgot off hand if odining firmware also wipes the
internal sdcard.

If you don't do a full wipe which includes wipe data/system/cache/dalvik cache and last but
not least a factory reset in twrp/cwm/phils before you odin flash then as soon as your phone
reboots from odin flashing you will have so many FC's that the phone will not work at all
until you do a full wipe and then re-odin flash the official 4.4.2 kitkat firmware.

Good luck!
20th June 2014, 03:26 PM   |  #7  
atlzonly89's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta GA
Thanks Meter: 13
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzair113

Thanks will try but can i update to NE6 with odin and update my phone without losing data.


back up your phone via the samsung account.....once thats done, use KIES...go to tools > firmware upgrade and intialisation >
follow the direction and youll be good!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes