Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,492 Members 39,463 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Root Problems

Tip us?
 
Azzair113
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 80
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norfolk
Default Root Problems

Right now im on 4.4.2 NB4 and i rooted using cf auto root by chainfire or i thought it was rooted everytime i open up titanium backup it gives me the error that my phone isnt rooted so when i used root checker it said i wont rooted but i still had superuser su and every other root app i had showed that i was rooted with superuser popping up asking to grant root permission so im confused on whats wrong why isnt it showing that im rooted.I've also tried to use cf auto root to see if i can root it again and its still doing the same thing. Would I be able to update to NE6 using odin 3.07 and put ne6 md5 tar in PDA without losing data but wouldnt I have to first restore my phone back to stock or i can try while being rooted and update it to ne6 i dont want to lose data.... If i update to ne6 will i be able too root using towelroot by geohot?
 
Misterjunky
Old
(Last edited by Misterjunky; 20th June 2014 at 12:52 AM.)
#2  
Misterjunky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2251
Posts: 4,397
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bakersfield, California

 
DONATE TO ME
Thumbs up re: titanium backup - root

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzair113 View Post
Right now im on 4.4.2 NB4 and i rooted using cf auto root by chainfire or i thought it was rooted everytime i open up titanium backup it gives me the error that my phone isnt rooted so when i used root checker it said i wont rooted but i still had superuser su and every other root app i had showed that i was rooted with superuser popping up asking to grant root permission so im confused on whats wrong why isnt it showing that im rooted.I've also tried to use cf auto root to see if i can root it again and its still doing the same thing. Would I be able to update to NE6 using odin 3.07 and put ne6 md5 tar in PDA without losing data but wouldnt I have to first restore my phone back to stock or i can try while being rooted and update it to ne6 i dont want to lose data.... If i update to ne6 will i be able too root using towelroot by geohot?
I read your post very carefully and you must have perhaps an OLD version of Titanium.
If all your root apps work, and new ones popup asking for permission then there is
something wrong with the titanium backup.

If your titanium backup is the newest one available then you can try to go into the main
phone setting and go to "application manager" and find Titanium Backup then click on
"clear data" and "clear cache" then re-boot the phone, see if that fixes it for you.

You can also go to recovery (twrp or cwm/phils) and find the option of "fix permissions",
that might also fix it.

Good luck!
Have a great day, enjoy!

Don't forget it takes less time to click the "THANKS" button than to type "thank you".
(unless you type very fast).



 
Azzair113
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 80
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norfolk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterjunky View Post
I read your post very carefully and you must have perhaps an OLD version of Titanium.
If all your root apps work, and new ones popup asking for permission then there is
something wrong with the titanium backup.

If your titanium backup is the newest one available then you can try to go into the main
phone setting and go to "application manager" and find Titanium Backup then click on
"clear data" and "clear cache" then re-boot the phone, see if that fixes it for you.

You can also go to recovery (twrp or cwm/phils) and find the option of "fix permissions",
that might also fix it.

Good luck!


Thanks will try but can i update to NE6 with odin and update my phone without losing data.
 
theErock
Old
#4  
theErock's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 158
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Covina
I'm might be off here, but do you have the latest version of busy box? I had a similar problem not too long ago.

Sent from my XT912 using XDA Free mobile app
 
toastido
Old
#5  
toastido's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 299
Posts: 495
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Huntsville, AL

 
DONATE TO ME
Also, go into supersu and see if titanium has a red mark next to it. If it does, then it wasn't allowed root. Simple fix: tap it's entry, change access to grant, hit save.

Sent from my leanKernel 3.0 powered stock 4.4.2 (NE6) SM-N900T
If I've helped you, hit the Thanks! button!

Devices:
2012 ASUS Nexus 7 - KitKat 4.4.4 Stock ROM - leanKernel(grouper) v4.0
T-Mobile Galaxy Note 3 - KitKat 4.4.2 Stock ROM(N900TUVUDNF4) - leanKernel(N900T) v3.4

Helpful Threads by Yours Truly:
 
Misterjunky
Old
#6  
Misterjunky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2251
Posts: 4,397
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bakersfield, California

 
DONATE TO ME
Thumbs up re: loose data

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzair113 View Post
Thanks will try but can i update to NE6 with odin and update my phone without losing data.
If you have a titanium backup folder in your internal sdcard then
with a file explorer check the properties of that folder to be sure
that you do have titanium backups there. Then copy the entire
folder to external sdcard in the phone OR with a usb cable to
your computer.

That way you can always copy it all back after you odin flash
the official Samsung N900T NE6 firmware.
I already forgot off hand if odining firmware also wipes the
internal sdcard.

If you don't do a full wipe which includes wipe data/system/cache/dalvik cache and last but
not least a factory reset in twrp/cwm/phils before you odin flash then as soon as your phone
reboots from odin flashing you will have so many FC's that the phone will not work at all
until you do a full wipe and then re-odin flash the official 4.4.2 kitkat firmware.

Good luck!
Have a great day, enjoy!

Don't forget it takes less time to click the "THANKS" button than to type "thank you".
(unless you type very fast).



 
atlzonly89
Old
#7  
atlzonly89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 110
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Atlanta GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzair113 View Post
Thanks will try but can i update to NE6 with odin and update my phone without losing data.

back up your phone via the samsung account.....once thats done, use KIES...go to tools > firmware upgrade and intialisation >
follow the direction and youll be good!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more