Post Reply

[Q][Nexus10][DNS] Set DNS on Google Nexus10

OP KASRU

2nd April 2014, 11:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 3
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Hi,

I have a problem on Android tablet Google Nexus10.
Google Nexus10 sends DNS requests to DNS server address obtained via DHCP. But it ignores setup changes in setprorp 1 and setprorp 2.

do it:
Code:
adb shell
# setprop net.dns1 <ip1>
# setprop net.dns2 <ip2>
How to change DNS server?
How to add DNS server?

Info:
Code:
# getprop |grep dns
getprop |grep dns
[dhcp.wlan0.dns1]: [192.168.1.1]
[dhcp.wlan0.dns2]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.dns3]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.dns4]: []
[net.change]: [net.dns1]
[net.dns.search]: []
[net.dns1]: [192.168.1.1]

# setprop net.dns1 8.8.8.8
setprop net.dns1 8.8.8.8

# setprop net.dns2 4.4.4.4
setprop net.dns2 4.4.4.4

# setprop dhcp.wlan0.dns1 8.8.8.8
setprop dhcp.wlan0.dns1 8.8.8.8

# getprop |grep dns
getprop |grep dns
[dhcp.wlan0.dns1]: [8.8.8.8]
[dhcp.wlan0.dns2]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.dns3]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.dns4]: []
[net.change]: [net.dns2]
[net.dns.search]: []
[net.dns1]: [8.8.8.8]
[net.dns2]: [4.4.4.4]

# ping google.com
...

# tcpdump -ns0 -i wlan0 'port 53'
tcpdump: verbose output suppressed, use -v or -vv for full protocol decode
listening on br0, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 65535 bytes
14:37:40.246226 IP 192.168.1.177.3551 > 192.168.1.1.53: 52272+ A? google.com. (28)
...
--
Thanks
Alexander
4th April 2014, 12:28 PM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 3
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
[Resolved]
Change your DNS servers in Android.
You can change the same thing on your rooted Android Device.

With root privileges and a terminal app or (adb shell):
root@:/ # ndc resolver flushif -- flushes old DNS servers
root@:/ # ndc resolver flushdefaultif -- flush resolver
root@:/ # ndc resolver setifdns <iface> <domains> <dns1> <dns2> ... -- Add the new servers
root@:/ # ndc resolver setdefaultif -- Set as the default device
20th June 2014, 03:39 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
Override DNS for KitKat
Quote:
Originally Posted by KASRU

Change your DNS servers in Android.
You can change the same thing on your rooted Android Device.

With root privileges and a terminal app or (adb shell):
root@:/ # ndc resolver flushif -- flushes old DNS servers
root@:/ # ndc resolver flushdefaultif -- flush resolver
root@:/ # ndc resolver setifdns <iface> <domains> <dns1> <dns2> ... -- Add the new servers
root@:/ # ndc resolver setdefaultif -- Set as the default device

I implemented an app called "Override DNS for KitKat" which implements that technique. It's on the Play Store.

Hope it helps.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 10 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank