Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

lost root? after custom ROM install.

OP hester23

20th June 2014, 05:42 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Yuma,az
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Hey guys so I was running sacs custom ROM running all sorts of rooted apps. So I wanted a changed and have always loved slimkat ROMs v20 which is the newest version. So all went well but no supersu. I downloaded the link for the updated supersu and no luck using rooted apps. What can it be??
20th June 2014, 05:57 PM   |  #2  
vndnguyen's Avatar
Senior Member
Vinnitsa
Thanks Meter: 988
 
2,729 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
May be the su binary is missing?

Try re-root again by yourself.
20th June 2014, 06:37 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Yuma,az
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Re-rooting?
Last edited by hester23; 20th June 2014 at 07:14 PM.
20th June 2014, 07:22 PM   |  #4  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,512
 
3,701 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hester23

Re-rooting?

Either Re-root, or reflash the root/SU package in recovery.
20th June 2014, 07:26 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Yuma,az
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto

Either Re-root, or reflash the root/SU package in recovery.

Is there a link for either or I love this ROM and wouldn't want to lose this after a backup has been made. Just weird that my previous ROM has root access and flashing this ROM no supersu.
20th June 2014, 07:29 PM   |  #6  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,512
 
3,701 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hester23

Is there a link for either or I love this ROM and wouldn't want to lose this after a backup has been made. Just weird that my previous ROM has root access and flashing this ROM no supersu.

Ahh SlimKat, enable root in settings

-EDIT Not used SlimKat since my Nexus 5- it's in developer settings IIRC - they disable root by default
20th June 2014, 08:02 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Yuma,az
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto

Ahh SlimKat, enable root in settings

-EDIT Not used SlimKat since my Nexus 5- it's in developer settings IIRC - they disable root by default

I went to the settings to root access and is disabled?
20th June 2014, 08:22 PM   |  #8  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,512
 
3,701 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hester23

I went to the settings to root access and is disabled?

Yeah, Slim disable root by default. If you go into developer options you can enable it.
20th June 2014, 08:27 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Flag Yuma,az
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto

Yeah, Slim disable root by default. If you go into developer options you can enable it.

It was on apps only in the developer options and rebooted and still no go.
20th June 2014, 09:59 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Flag Yuma,az
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
and arckev
Ok I keep trying to tweak the developer option setting with root access and DL a root checker app and still no Root? What gives no supersu available still.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes