Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,086 Members 53,971 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I have renamed app_process.

Tip us?
 
BratPAQ
Old
#1  
BratPAQ's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 161
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: 1435′N 12058′E
Default I have renamed app_process.

I'm trying to install the update. The update said something is changed in the system/bin/app_process. So using root Explorer I saw app_process and app_process.orig.

Thinking the app_process.orig is the unchanged one. I renamed the app_process to app_process.new.

I was trying to rename app_process.orig to app_process but somehow root Explorer can't so I rebooted.

Now its not booting up. Is there a way I can go to the files without booting up and rename the app_process?

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4
 
wilzard
Old
#2  
wilzard's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 176
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Portland
Quote:
Originally Posted by BratPAQ View Post
I'm trying to install the update. The update said something is changed in the system/bin/app_process. So using root Explorer I saw app_process and app_process.orig.

Thinking the app_process.orig is the unchanged one. I renamed the app_process to app_process.new.

I was trying to rename app_process.orig to app_process but somehow root Explorer can't so I rebooted.

Now its not booting up. Is there a way I can go to the files without booting up and rename the app_process?

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4
Some custom recoveries (TWRP) will let you browse the files on your device. I know that files can be copied, moved, deleted - I do not know if they can be renamed. My guess is yes, though. If you can boot to recovery go ahead and try that.

If you can't boot to recovery do you at least have ADB access? You can always ADB push the file you want if you do. There are guides out there if you don't know how to do it. I google for a quick refresher every time I have to ADB push a file.
GS4 - Sacs Custom 4.3 ROM v5 / MK2 Baseband / TWRP 2.7 / MF9 bootloader
Nexus 7 2012 - SlimKat / TWRP 2.7 / m-kernel a67
 
BratPAQ
Old
#3  
BratPAQ's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 161
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: 1435′N 12058′E
I'm on stock recovery, I can see the device with 'fastboot devices' but 'adb devices' can't see my device? Is this a problem of driver? Or because I haven't checked the developers option? If I can only access the device I can rename back that file.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4
 
BratPAQ
Old
#4  
BratPAQ's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 161
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: 1435′N 12058′E
Just reinstalled everything from fastboot. Please close this thread.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes