Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

statusbar icons

OP radji

16th June 2014, 03:20 AM   |  #1  
radji's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 82
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Howdy all. I'm wanting to customize a few of the statusbar icons on my M8 (Sprint). Specifically, the battery, bluetooth, WiFi, gps animation, etc.

I will not be messing with the Signal meter or 3G/4G/LTE/Sprint Spark icons. I know that tends to break SMS and triband LTE...though I do have the Disable Sprint SystemUI flag module installed and working.

I've already got the pngs and xmls ready to go. I just need to figure out which APKs they need to be flashed to as I am used to working on Samsung Galaxies which use only framework-res and systemUI (and maybe TWframework-res). Plus 4.4 with Sense 6 presents its own special set of problems modifying/theming the stock rom, so I've read.

Suggestions?
16th June 2014, 03:32 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag midland
Thanks Meter: 57
 
335 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by radji

Howdy all. I'm wanting to customize a few of the statusbar icons on my M8 (Sprint). Specifically, the battery, bluetooth, WiFi, gps animation, etc.

I will not be messing with the Signal meter or 3G/4G/LTE/Sprint Spark icons. I know that tends to break SMS and triband LTE...though I do have the Disable Sprint SystemUI flag module installed and working.

I've already got the pngs and xmls ready to go. I just need to figure out which APKs they need to be flashed to as I am used to working on Samsung Galaxies which use only framework-res and systemUI (and maybe TWframework-res). Plus 4.4 with Sense 6 presents its own special set of problems modifying/theming the stock rom, so I've read.

Suggestions?

xposed and gravitybox. and a backup

---------- Post added at 09:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:30 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbouza1

xposed and gravitybox. and a backup

edit. you prolly on sense. wont the xposed statusbar icon module work ?
16th June 2014, 03:38 AM   |  #3  
radji's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 82
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Yes, I am on Sense 6. Never heard of the Statusbar Icon module. It probably does work. Link to it?

PS: I was told Sense and gravitybox is like mixing gasoline and fire.
The Following User Says Thank You to radji For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th June 2014, 04:43 AM   |  #4  
dased14's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag cincy,ohio
Thanks Meter: 7,138
 
7,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
the rom your using 1% or 10% battery indicator?
16th June 2014, 07:46 AM   |  #5  
radji's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 82
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
10%. But I didn't think that really mattered. I have xmls ready to change it to a 1%.
16th June 2014, 07:59 AM   |  #6  
dased14's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag cincy,ohio
Thanks Meter: 7,138
 
7,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
just grab a vrtheme zip and place everything needed in it (images must be in correct folder xmls must be recompiled and placed in correct folder) and rezip and flash.
if need be pm me and i'll help you out
Last edited by dased14; 16th June 2014 at 08:01 AM.
21st June 2014, 04:57 AM   |  #7  
radji's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 82
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dased14

just grab a vrtheme zip and place everything needed in it (images must be in correct folder xmls must be recompiled and placed in correct folder) and rezip and flash.
if need be pm me and i'll help you out

I don't think I can use vrtheme as I need to recompile the xmls back into binary first. And APK Multitool is having issues doing that even with the newest version of apktool.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes