Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,468 Members 38,095 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Unable to delete files in /storage as root?

Tip us?
 
danherbert
Old
(Last edited by danherbert; 21st June 2014 at 05:00 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 40
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Question [Q] Unable to delete files in /storage as root?

After reformatting (keeping the sdcard partition) and reinstalling android on my rooted Moto X, Titanium Backup stopped working saying "insufficient free space". When I check space on the device it's got plenty.

As a test, when I tried to delete /storage/emulated/0/TitaniumBackup/org.mozilla.firefox-20140326-060005.tar.gz I get the error

Quote:
rm failed for TitaniumBackup/org.mozilla.firefox-20140326-060005.tar.gz, Permission denied
Checking the file permissions, it looks like it's writable

Code:
1|root@ghost:/storage/emulated/0 # ls -l TitaniumBackup/org.mozilla.firefox-20140326-060005.tar.gz
-rw-rw---- root     sdcard_r  5048353 2014-04-10 07:58 org.mozilla.firefox-20140326-060005.tar.gz
But just to be sure, I ran

Code:
chmod 777 TitaniumBackup/org.mozilla.firefox-20140326-060005.tar.gz
Which didn't seem to make any difference

When I run mount, it appears to be writable.

Code:
/dev/fuse /storage/emulated/0 fuse rw,relatime,user_id=1023,group_id=1023,default_permissions,allow_other 0 0
Other apps are able to write to the sdcard partition, as best as I've noticed the /TitaniumBackup/ directory is the only one not working.

Is there anything else I can try other than completely reformatting my phone?
 
danherbert
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 40
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philadelphia
I rebooted into recovery and opened an adb shell while my phone was in recovery.

From within recovery I was able to delete the TitaniumBackup directory with no problems.

After I booted back into normal mode, I cleared all app data for Titanium Backup from Settings > Apps > Titanium Backup and then started up the app again and everything worked!
The Following User Says Thank You to danherbert For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes