Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q]how can I change the bootloader image not the boot animation

OP cm0002

2nd June 2014, 04:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Hello,
I was wondering how I could change the bootloader static image (the very first image you see when you turn it on says stuff like seandroid enforcing and stuff).
I searched and saw that it was done for the epic 4g but from the thread it looked like it was specific to that device.
Last edited by cm0002; 2nd June 2014 at 04:16 AM.
2nd June 2014, 04:28 PM   |  #2  
tp2215's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 2,989
 
1,794 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cm0002

Hello,
I was wondering how I could change the bootloader static image (the very first image you see when you turn it on says stuff like seandroid enforcing and stuff).
I searched and saw that it was done for the epic 4g but from the thread it looked like it was specific to that device.

It's built into the kernel and would need to be changed in the kernel. I don't think it is even possible with stock.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
3rd June 2014, 04:36 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp2215

It's built into the kernel and would need to be changed in the kernel. I don't think it is even possible with stock.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk

Ok so what your saying is that in theory anyways I would have to get the source of a kernel change the image and compile it from scratch? You also said it most likely would not be possible with stock, stock kernel you mean,? Because I thought custom kernels were already out.
3rd June 2014, 04:38 AM   |  #4  
tp2215's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 2,989
 
1,794 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Yea, you would need to decompile the kernel and replace the image.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
3rd June 2014, 04:46 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp2215

Yea, you would need to decompile the kernel and replace the image.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk

Ok I got an idea now, but I am surprised that it is in the kernel because the android boot sequence goes bootloader then kernel then android and I thought the picture of anything would be in the bootloader, but I will defently get a hold of a custom kernel and poke around thanks for the info
7th June 2014, 06:45 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Ok I'm at a loss at the moment after digging around in the blaze kernel source I failed to find any logo picture at all and after further research expanding to previous galaxy s models and other Samsung lines I determined one common denominator, param.lfs.

Now I ran a command to determine the partitions along with their familiars (I don't remember the command at the moment) and it came back with mmcblk0p11 with familiar "param" so I am guessing this is the one.

I then ran command
Dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p11 of=/storage/extSdCard/wkinglfs/param.lfs which outputted a 10mb file however when I open it in a hex editor it's all 0's

At this point I try to mount it in the file system by first creating folder ".lfs" in /mnt/ and then running mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p11 /mnt/.lfs which outputs the error "mount: invalid argument.
I am stuck here, I am not really sure where to go from here
7th June 2014, 08:58 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Oh I almost forgot I was going to attach a screenshot and some reference links.

A guide for the Samsung fascinate
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1279289

A guide for the Samsung galaxy s2
http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/8591568-post36.html

A guide for Samsung galaxy tab 2
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1898377

And finally some instructions for HTC sensation
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1442872
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-04-14-52-15.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	268.4 KB
ID:	2785900  
9th June 2014, 09:22 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Still stuck...
No matter how I dump or where I dump param partition the file I dump always comes out full of zeros in the hex editor and I am confident that this is the area I need to modify to obtain my goal, any help is greatly appreciated.
17th June 2014, 06:43 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Partial success, after going through the aboot dump with a hex editor and copying out from FFD8 to FFD9 into a new jpeg file I was able to get many images out of it, most importantly the boot splash images, and then reinserting my custom images I flashed using dd if=/storage/extSdCard/abootnew.mbn of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6 however upon reboot I still see Samsung logos, any help would appreciated
21st June 2014, 06:57 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Ok so I redumped aboot to see why itwas still displaying Samsung logos and come to find out the new one never got flashed in the first place so the dd command referenced earlier did not work so I tried flashing using heimdall but apparently heimdall does not work yet for the galaxy s5.

How do I package aboot for use with odin or is there another way to flash aboot?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes