Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,727 Members 52,670 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Free mobile hotspot?

Tip us?
 
fatshinobi
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Free mobile hotspot?

I recently upgraded to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...97&postcount=2 from stock rom /w root and now the app I was using to get my phone to become a hotspot no longer works. Anyone have any solutions? I've been searching quite abit for the answer and haven't come up with any.
 
daggorlad
Old
(Last edited by daggorlad; 3rd June 2014 at 03:51 PM.) Reason: Update
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 90
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lexington, KY
Default 1700

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatshinobi View Post
I recently upgraded to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...97&postcount=2 from stock rom /w root and now the app I was using to get my phone to become a hotspot no longer works. Anyone have any solutions? I've been searching quite abit for the answer and haven't come up with any.
I used that ROM for awhile, I just use the embedded mobile hotspot with no issues. Just go to Settings> More Networks > Tethering and Mobile HotSpot and turn Mobile Hotspot on ( I reinstalled the ROM to be able to give accurate information)
 
daggorlad
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 90
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lexington, KY
Thumbs up Wrong Section

This should have been posted in T-Mobile Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting
 
alek889
Old
#4  
alek889's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 61
Join Date: Apr 2014
You can try Foxfi..Work for me...
 
tokenpoke
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 524
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatshinobi View Post
I recently upgraded to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...97&postcount=2 from stock rom /w root and now the app I was using to get my phone to become a hotspot no longer works. Anyone have any solutions? I've been searching quite abit for the answer and haven't come up with any.
try installing xposed and the Wanam module.
in system option (in Wanam) turn off tethering provisioning.

reboot and use the stock tethering option.

if you are on windows try changing the browsers user agent to an android user string. you don't need to do this if you run Linux.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#6  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5,917
Posts: 8,589
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Have you tried my Sprint Port? Im told hotspot works quite well with it.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more

Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more

aLogcat Returns Thanks to XDA Love

The developers of Android, that is Google, gave users several great debugging tools that can be used in … more