Google Updates Play Games, Wallet, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive, Google+, and Camera

While we haven’t really had much in the way of … more

Google Execs Talk to Ars About Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is right around the corner, and it’s expected to hit AOSP … more

UX Design in Apps and ROMs w/ Kevin Bruckert – BABBQ2014

This year’s Big Android BBQ has come and gone. While the whole event was … more

Bring Material Design Goodness to Your App with Support Library

At Google I/O 2014, the next iteration of Android was announced and … more
Post Reply

HTC Boot Loop Flip Out

OP capn_tack

22nd June 2014, 04:17 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Aight. I got me a Rooted, S-OFF HTC One rocking the most recent stock OS (can't remember which and my phone is jacked so I can't check) and twrp v2.6.3.0

Yesterday I reset my phone via the power button to clear the cache. I do this at least once a week because, well, it's a good idea right?

Wrong.

It went into a boot loop. It was weird. It would boot up and work for about 10 seconds, then reboot. Even if I caught it in time to fully shut off, it would do so. But if I went to HBoot or TWRP it wouldn't reboot. OK. Let's factory reset via TWRP, restore via Titanium, and all good.

That is until just now it flipped out after and is now in consta boot loop. Can't get into recovery, can't make it turn off, it just loads up and keeps telling me how Google Services have stopped working and then reboots again. I can get the power off function to come up but all it does is reboot again. Advice? Maybe I need to give you more info? I would have more for you but in the process of getting it off my phone to ask about the first occurrence yesterday is when it started flipping out just now.

Please, any advice at all would be fantastic.
22nd June 2014, 04:25 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Now I got it to stop boot looping, but my homescreen is nonexistent, can only go into stuff that is in the pull down task bar, no app tray, and the power off function still just reboots. And when it reboots, it doesn't even give me the splash pages. Just five seconds later it's back.
22nd June 2014, 05:07 AM   |  #3  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,200
 
3,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by capn_tack

Now I got it to stop boot looping, but my homescreen is nonexistent, can only go into stuff that is in the pull down task bar, no app tray, and the power off function still just reboots. And when it reboots, it doesn't even give me the splash pages. Just five seconds later it's back.

can you please reboot in bootloader mode and post the output of ''fastboot getvar all'' (except imei/serialno) and also post a pic of bootloader screen.

btw your twrp version is outdated, latest version is 2.7.1.1.however we recommend using 2.6.3.3 or 2.6.3.4

with your phone s-off, you should consider restoring it with a fresh install using a ruu.

do you have files to backup or you are ok with loosing all data currently on your phone?
22nd June 2014, 05:18 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
All right, I am new to rooting and s-off and all of this. First phone I've done it to, so forgive me if I ask stupid question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

can you please reboot in bootloader mode and post the output of ''fastboot getvar all'' (except imei/serialno) and also post a pic of bootloader screen.

What does that mean? If by bootloader you mean when you press Vol Dwn and Pwr to get the screen that I've posted an image of...then I don't have anything there about getvar all.

How would RUU work?

And I've yet to figure out how to update TWRP, tho I haven't looked that one up yet. I am sure I could figure it out just fine. I've got this far, lol.

I fact reset my phone again, and it is working...for now. But I don't trust it to not freak out a third time. Am backing up all files to my PC as we speak.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0271.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	257.0 KB
ID:	2811104  
22nd June 2014, 05:34 AM   |  #5  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,200
 
3,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by capn_tack

What does that mean? If by bootloader you mean when you press Vol Dwn and Pwr to get the screen that I've posted an image of...then I don't have anything there about getvar all.

You need adb and fastboot installed on your computer + htc drivers
then use fastboot to do this command when phone is in bootloader:
Code:
fastboot getvar all
Quote:

How would RUU work?

ruu restore the entire phone to stock, including software and firmware. this wipe all your data. with s-on you can only flash ruu same of higher version currently on your phone (i.e 4.18.502.7) with bootloader locked or re-locked. with s-off you can flash ruu lower or higher version, with bootloader unlocked, locked or re-locked.

Quote:

And I've yet to figure out how to update TWRP, tho I haven't looked that one up yet. I am sure I could figure it out just fine. I've got this far, lol.

you also need fastboot to update twrp, however if you choose to restore using a ruu, no need to update twrp, it will be wiped by the ruu anyway.

Quote:

I fact reset my phone again, and it is working...for now. But I don't trust it to not freak out a third time. Am backing up all files to my PC as we speak.

you should also try this using fastboot in bootloader:
Code:
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot
well you said in your first post that your phone was S-OFF but from what I see from the picture you have posted (yes this is the bootloader btw) your phone is S-ON. fortunately, there is a 4.18.502.7 ruu, so you should not need s-off.

oh and you also said you were running the most recent stock rom, but 4.18.502.7 isnt the most recent. most recent version for your phone is 5.12.502.2

Quote:

Aight. I got me a Rooted, S-OFF HTC One rocking the most recent stock OS

Last edited by alray; 22nd June 2014 at 05:38 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2014, 03:16 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Aight, I will get started on this when I get home from work. Thank you for the advice. I may be back with more questions.

Oh, why do you recommend those particular versions of TWRP over the newest?

-Tack
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes