Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,065 Members 41,966 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Dreaded Decryption Code, Wiped Phone, Now Stock RUU Won't Install (ATT)

Tip us?
 
redbandana
Old
(Last edited by redbandana; 21st June 2014 at 10:16 AM.)
#1  
redbandana's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 1,264
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boston
Default Dreaded Decryption Code, Wiped Phone, Now Stock RUU Won't Install (ATT)

Last night I installed the newest version of sense as my OTA wasn't working with CMW. So, tonight my device restarted on its own and I was stuck with Decryption Code after splash screen. I searched for solutions for this and did not come across any clear cut solutions. I was able to wipe my device clean. Relocked the phone and tried installing stock Sense 5.5 ruu. My PC (win7) with updated drivers, recognizes my device when I search for "Fastboot Devices" in cmd. I downloaded a stock ATT ruu. It gets 5% (checking header) into the update then I receive an error HTC_Fastboot has stopped working. I attempted different usb ports, restarted my system, and tried an earlier version of ruu.

Here is what I see in Bootloader:

Tampered
Relocked
security warning

M7_UL PVT Ship S-ON
HBoot- 1.55
Radio 4T.20.3218.xx


What am I doing wrong? Do I need to put my device on S-off?
Thank you, Olipro and Cmonex
 
SaHiLzZ
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 410
Posts: 1,704
Join Date: Jan 2011
What is output of fastboot getvar all?
 
redbandana
Old
#3  
redbandana's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 1,264
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbandana View Post
Last night I installed the newest version of sense as my OTA wasn't working with CMW. So, tonight my device restarted on its own and I was stuck with Decryption Code after splash screen. I searched for solutions for this and did not come across any clear cut solutions. I was able to wipe my device clean. Relocked the phone and tried installing stock Sense 5.5 ruu. My PC (win7) with updated drivers, recognizes my device when I search for "Fastboot Devices" in cmd. I downloaded a stock ATT ruu. It gets 5% (checking header) into the update then I receive an error HTC_Fastboot has stopped working. I attempted different usb ports, restarted my system, and tried an earlier version of ruu.

Here is what I see in Bootloader:

Tampered
Relocked
security warning

M7_UL PVT Ship S-ON
HBoot- 1.55
Radio 4T.20.3218.xx


What am I doing wrong? Do I need to put my device on S-off?
Solution: Needed to find the exact same rom image the device was shipped with. This was the only way to bypass the fastboot error. All I know that decryption password was hell.
Thank you, Olipro and Cmonex
 
yatindroid
Old
#4  
yatindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 333
Posts: 1,307
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Jaipur
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbandana View Post
Solution: Needed to find the exact same rom image the device was shipped with. This was the only way to bypass the fastboot error. All I know that decryption password was hell.
sense 5.5 ruu give this issue much
So you can go this way
Unlocking boot loader
Install custom recovery
Install root
Firewater S Off
Flash old ruu like 4.3 or 4.2.2
Decryption password is password entered for phone storage encryption
I can guess factory reset can remove that give it a try

from HTC One
 
redbandana
Old
#5  
redbandana's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 1,264
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by yatindroid View Post
sense 5.5 ruu give this issue much
So you can go this way
Unlocking boot loader
Install custom recovery
Install root
Firewater S Off
Flash old ruu like 4.3 or 4.2.2
Decryption password is password entered for phone storage encryption
I can guess factory reset can remove that give it a try

from HTC One
no, See link to understand "Type password to decrypt storage". There are multiple issues with this and no clear cut way to fix it. Everywhere I read people had different solutions or no solutions at all. Factory resets does not always fix the issue. Thank you for your reply though. I basically had to remove everything img from my phone and start from scratch. My bootloader was unlocked and I was rooted. I had to reverse the root and bootloader back to stock and flash the same ruu the phone was shipped with.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2749625
Thank you, Olipro and Cmonex
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes