Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,099 Members 45,911 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Location Based WIFI not working

Tip us?
 
e1i@zzz
Old
(Last edited by e1i@zzz; 21st June 2014 at 02:27 PM.) Reason: thread title specified
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 176
Join Date: Jan 2013
Question [Q] Location Based WIFI not working

Hi guys, I got a short question:


Does the location based wifi require the "google location services" from "location services" settings enabled? currently, both boxes I left unticked there, since I dont want google to know my location

I tried the location based wifi a few times now, but it doesnt work. Actually it shall work with just knowing which mobile signal the station belongs to Im currently using..

but so far, wifi remains on when I turn it on and go out and remains off when I come close to my home-network.

also there doesnt appear a symbol in statusbar.


Im on existenz 3.3.0, would like to try it out since it shall save a lot of battery

thanks in advance
Xperia SP
 
e1i@zzz
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 176
Join Date: Jan 2013
Anyone?

Now I'm on stock 205, not seems to work either

Xperia SP
 
Tomoms
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 96
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by e1i@zzz View Post
Anyone?

Now I'm on stock 205, not seems to work either

I've used it for a lot of time and it was working for me. When I was in Stamina Mode it was working worse (the switch on-off was slower), but without stamina it was working great
The Following User Says Thank You to Tomoms For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ditarius
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 17
Join Date: Mar 2014
It was working fine for me with unticked google location services, it shouldnt have any problems with that cause its Sony rom based function. But it isnt instant especially with stamina mode on. It needs some time to understand it shouldve turned on
The Following User Says Thank You to Ditarius For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
e1i@zzz
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 176
Join Date: Jan 2013
So now I cleared data, removed all networks from location based wifi and turned off stamina.

Im wondering wether greenify keeps it from working properly.

Is there a sign in notification bar if location based wifi is turned on or off?

Thanks for the replies so far
Xperia SP
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes