ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Android Studio Reaches Release Candidate Status

Android app developers have a few options when comes to Android IDEs. One of the most … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Bootloader says Tampered but I've never tampered it!

OP the_r_sole

20th June 2014, 10:04 PM   |  #11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
So, can anyone help with this?
Phone can only get to bootloader and freezes at white screen if I try to start it...
20th June 2014, 11:17 PM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_r_sole

So, can anyone help with this?
Phone can only get to bootloader and freezes at white screen if I try to start it...

well, I got somewhere! went to htcdev to unlock the bootloader, once I did that it rebooted properly so apart from losing all my text messages and having to set up my emails it's all good!
21st June 2014, 02:56 AM   |  #13  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
have done some more reading and it seems like 1.56 hboot can't get s-off so I am in the ludicrous situation of not being able to get a completely stock phone to be a completely stock phone and get the OTA updates!!
21st June 2014, 03:17 AM   |  #14  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,283
 
3,310 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_r_sole

have done some more reading and it seems like 1.56 hboot can't get s-off so I am in the ludicrous situation of not being able to get a completely stock phone to be a completely stock phone and get the OTA updates!!

you can s-off using firewater for hboot 1.56, sometime it works, sometime it don't.

you can still have ota updates if you restore the missing files for ota and you flash back the stock recovery.

or some custom roms are always up-to-date and not much different from a stock rom look (i.e ARHD)

you can always send the phone to fonefunshop.com and have it s-off'ed via a java card. then you'll be able to do a full ruu
Last edited by alray; 21st June 2014 at 03:19 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2014, 10:33 PM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Yeah, tried firewater a few times and it gave me the error saying that it will never work!
Went for ARHD which works fine, so will just stick with it for a while anyway
Cherrs
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes