FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

[Q] Bootloader says Tampered but I've never tampered it!

27 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By the_r_sole, Junior Member on 19th June 2014, 02:42 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
20th June 2014, 09:04 PM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
So, can anyone help with this?
Phone can only get to bootloader and freezes at white screen if I try to start it...
 
 
20th June 2014, 10:17 PM |#12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_r_sole

So, can anyone help with this?
Phone can only get to bootloader and freezes at white screen if I try to start it...

well, I got somewhere! went to htcdev to unlock the bootloader, once I did that it rebooted properly so apart from losing all my text messages and having to set up my emails it's all good!
21st June 2014, 01:56 AM |#13  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
have done some more reading and it seems like 1.56 hboot can't get s-off so I am in the ludicrous situation of not being able to get a completely stock phone to be a completely stock phone and get the OTA updates!!
21st June 2014, 02:17 AM |#14  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,196
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_r_sole

have done some more reading and it seems like 1.56 hboot can't get s-off so I am in the ludicrous situation of not being able to get a completely stock phone to be a completely stock phone and get the OTA updates!!

you can s-off using firewater for hboot 1.56, sometime it works, sometime it don't.

you can still have ota updates if you restore the missing files for ota and you flash back the stock recovery.

or some custom roms are always up-to-date and not much different from a stock rom look (i.e ARHD)

you can always send the phone to fonefunshop.com and have it s-off'ed via a java card. then you'll be able to do a full ruu
Last edited by alray; 21st June 2014 at 02:19 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2014, 09:33 PM |#15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Yeah, tried firewater a few times and it gave me the error saying that it will never work!
Went for ARHD which works fine, so will just stick with it for a while anyway
Cherrs
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes