Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,313 Members 48,753 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

My M8 wont charge if the phone is powered on.

Tip us?
 
tdnookhd
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 115
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default My M8 wont charge if the phone is powered on.

When the phone is on, plugging in the cord will charge the phone for a couple of seconds before it stops working. If its powered off, the phone charges normally but obviously I want to be able to use my phone. Does anyone have a fix for this, or do I need to get back to stock and make an insurance claim with Verizon?

I should mention I'm running the GPE ROM currently.
 
dottat
Old
#2  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 987
Posts: 2,239
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: york, pa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdnookhd View Post
When the phone is on, plugging in the cord will charge the phone for a couple of seconds before it stops working. If its powered off, the phone charges normally but obviously I want to be able to use my phone. Does anyone have a fix for this, or do I need to get back to stock and make an insurance claim with Verizon?

I should mention I'm running the GPE ROM currently.
what happens when you ruu back to stock?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
 
tdnookhd
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 115
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat View Post
what happens when you ruu back to stock?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
I tried to run the RUU but I couldn't get the phone to be recognized by my command window. It stays on <waiting for device>
 
dottat
Old
#4  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 987
Posts: 2,239
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: york, pa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdnookhd View Post
I tried to run the RUU but I couldn't get the phone to be recognized by my command window. It stays on <waiting for device>
OK...sounds like a fastboot driver problem. you have an SD card formatted to fat32 you can copy the ruu to?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
 
tdnookhd
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 115
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat View Post
OK...sounds like a fastboot driver problem. you have an SD card formatted to fat32 you can copy the ruu to?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
I have one somewhere that I could try tomorrow. I think it might be a software problem since it started entering car mode all the time randomly when not plugged in yesterday, and that's when this started. That being said, it seems if I let the car mode notification sit in my status bar it will charge for the most part.
 
dottat
Old
#6  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 987
Posts: 2,239
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: york, pa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdnookhd View Post
I have one somewhere that I could try tomorrow. I think it might be a software problem since it started entering car mode all the time randomly when not plugged in yesterday, and that's when this started. That being said, it seems if I let the car mode notification sit in my status bar it will charge for the most part.
sounds kernel related. the ruu via SD will be an easy way to test. remember it will wipe internal storage too.

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes