FORUMS

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

My M8 wont charge if the phone is powered on.

22nd June 2014, 05:22 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
When the phone is on, plugging in the cord will charge the phone for a couple of seconds before it stops working. If its powered off, the phone charges normally but obviously I want to be able to use my phone. Does anyone have a fix for this, or do I need to get back to stock and make an insurance claim with Verizon?

I should mention I'm running the GPE ROM currently.
 
 
23rd June 2014, 04:08 AM |#2  
dottat's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 2,038
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdnookhd

When the phone is on, plugging in the cord will charge the phone for a couple of seconds before it stops working. If its powered off, the phone charges normally but obviously I want to be able to use my phone. Does anyone have a fix for this, or do I need to get back to stock and make an insurance claim with Verizon?

I should mention I'm running the GPE ROM currently.

what happens when you ruu back to stock?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
23rd June 2014, 04:12 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

what happens when you ruu back to stock?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk

I tried to run the RUU but I couldn't get the phone to be recognized by my command window. It stays on <waiting for device>
23rd June 2014, 04:13 AM |#4  
dottat's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 2,038
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdnookhd

I tried to run the RUU but I couldn't get the phone to be recognized by my command window. It stays on <waiting for device>

OK...sounds like a fastboot driver problem. you have an SD card formatted to fat32 you can copy the ruu to?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
23rd June 2014, 04:14 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

OK...sounds like a fastboot driver problem. you have an SD card formatted to fat32 you can copy the ruu to?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk

I have one somewhere that I could try tomorrow. I think it might be a software problem since it started entering car mode all the time randomly when not plugged in yesterday, and that's when this started. That being said, it seems if I let the car mode notification sit in my status bar it will charge for the most part.
23rd June 2014, 04:19 AM |#6  
dottat's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 2,038
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdnookhd

I have one somewhere that I could try tomorrow. I think it might be a software problem since it started entering car mode all the time randomly when not plugged in yesterday, and that's when this started. That being said, it seems if I let the car mode notification sit in my status bar it will charge for the most part.

sounds kernel related. the ruu via SD will be an easy way to test. remember it will wipe internal storage too.

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes