Post Reply

My M8 wont charge if the phone is powered on.

22nd June 2014, 05:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
When the phone is on, plugging in the cord will charge the phone for a couple of seconds before it stops working. If its powered off, the phone charges normally but obviously I want to be able to use my phone. Does anyone have a fix for this, or do I need to get back to stock and make an insurance claim with Verizon?

I should mention I'm running the GPE ROM currently.
23rd June 2014, 04:08 AM   |  #2  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,048
 
2,366 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdnookhd

When the phone is on, plugging in the cord will charge the phone for a couple of seconds before it stops working. If its powered off, the phone charges normally but obviously I want to be able to use my phone. Does anyone have a fix for this, or do I need to get back to stock and make an insurance claim with Verizon?

I should mention I'm running the GPE ROM currently.

what happens when you ruu back to stock?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
23rd June 2014, 04:12 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

what happens when you ruu back to stock?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk

I tried to run the RUU but I couldn't get the phone to be recognized by my command window. It stays on <waiting for device>
23rd June 2014, 04:13 AM   |  #4  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,048
 
2,366 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdnookhd

I tried to run the RUU but I couldn't get the phone to be recognized by my command window. It stays on <waiting for device>

OK...sounds like a fastboot driver problem. you have an SD card formatted to fat32 you can copy the ruu to?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
23rd June 2014, 04:14 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

OK...sounds like a fastboot driver problem. you have an SD card formatted to fat32 you can copy the ruu to?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk

I have one somewhere that I could try tomorrow. I think it might be a software problem since it started entering car mode all the time randomly when not plugged in yesterday, and that's when this started. That being said, it seems if I let the car mode notification sit in my status bar it will charge for the most part.
23rd June 2014, 04:19 AM   |  #6  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,048
 
2,366 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdnookhd

I have one somewhere that I could try tomorrow. I think it might be a software problem since it started entering car mode all the time randomly when not plugged in yesterday, and that's when this started. That being said, it seems if I let the car mode notification sit in my status bar it will charge for the most part.

sounds kernel related. the ruu via SD will be an easy way to test. remember it will wipe internal storage too.

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes