FORUMS

Earthquake Early Warning in Your Pocket

Probably all of us reading this have a smartphone in our pocket. For many of us, the … more

Sony: The OEM You Want To Save

In our recent Discuss article, we asked you readers on which OEM you would like to help. While the … more

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

My M8 wont charge if the phone is powered on.

117 posts
Thanks Meter: 7
 
By tdnookhd, Senior Member on 22nd June 2014, 05:22 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
When the phone is on, plugging in the cord will charge the phone for a couple of seconds before it stops working. If its powered off, the phone charges normally but obviously I want to be able to use my phone. Does anyone have a fix for this, or do I need to get back to stock and make an insurance claim with Verizon?

I should mention I'm running the GPE ROM currently.
 
 
23rd June 2014, 04:08 AM |#2  
dottat's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 2,494
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdnookhd

When the phone is on, plugging in the cord will charge the phone for a couple of seconds before it stops working. If its powered off, the phone charges normally but obviously I want to be able to use my phone. Does anyone have a fix for this, or do I need to get back to stock and make an insurance claim with Verizon?

I should mention I'm running the GPE ROM currently.

what happens when you ruu back to stock?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
23rd June 2014, 04:12 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

what happens when you ruu back to stock?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk

I tried to run the RUU but I couldn't get the phone to be recognized by my command window. It stays on <waiting for device>
23rd June 2014, 04:13 AM |#4  
dottat's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 2,494
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdnookhd

I tried to run the RUU but I couldn't get the phone to be recognized by my command window. It stays on <waiting for device>

OK...sounds like a fastboot driver problem. you have an SD card formatted to fat32 you can copy the ruu to?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
23rd June 2014, 04:14 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

OK...sounds like a fastboot driver problem. you have an SD card formatted to fat32 you can copy the ruu to?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk

I have one somewhere that I could try tomorrow. I think it might be a software problem since it started entering car mode all the time randomly when not plugged in yesterday, and that's when this started. That being said, it seems if I let the car mode notification sit in my status bar it will charge for the most part.
23rd June 2014, 04:19 AM |#6  
dottat's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 2,494
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdnookhd

I have one somewhere that I could try tomorrow. I think it might be a software problem since it started entering car mode all the time randomly when not plugged in yesterday, and that's when this started. That being said, it seems if I let the car mode notification sit in my status bar it will charge for the most part.

sounds kernel related. the ruu via SD will be an easy way to test. remember it will wipe internal storage too.

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes