Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more

Try Some Android Lollipop Applications on Your Device

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been officially announced and lucky users of Google Nexus 5 … more

AutoCon Manages Your Connections to Perserve Battery Life

As we’ve talked about in the past, battery life is still somewhat of a sore … more

How to Unlock and Root a Nexus Device – XDA TV

It is official–Google has released the Nexus 6 and the Nexus 9. The Nexus family … more
Post Reply

Read a zillion threads, nothing sticks

OP pixelsquish

20th June 2014, 11:04 AM   |  #11  
exocetdj's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Bristol, UK
Thanks Meter: 2,229
 
3,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelsquish

So I've rooted my phones for the last 5 years, nexus 1, droid, rezound, gs4, n5 and then the m8. finally i screwed up, and i was getting bootloops. in my slightly panicked state i managed to wipe the OS completely off of the device.

i can get into fastboot and from there also TWRP recovery. i've read a million threads, adb sideload, One_M8 all in one kit, etc....

I can't figure out how to now simply flash a stock ROM onto my device. can anyone spell it out in a way this idiot can get it? i;ve downloaded a gazillion things. i'm stuck. i had to go pay full retail for a phone because as a realtor i simply can't be without one even for a day. it's my lifeline. i'd like to fix this one so i can return the new one and save $700.

thanks.

Have you got an external sd card? whack it on there using a card reader and flash from external sd

---------- Post added at 11:04 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:01 AM ----------

If that won't work on TWRP use philz
20th June 2014, 04:06 PM   |  #12  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
not sure if i wiped the partitions. don't think so.

i can't transfer files to the device, the pc recognizes it to give fastboot commands via a command prompt, but not as a removable device.

i'll get an sd card on my way home today and try flashing a rom using recovery.
20th June 2014, 04:13 PM   |  #13  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by hack14u

There is a DEV RUU out. You can use that. Or if you want ATT, or GPE, find the zips, and use fastboot commands to flash. If the computer can see the phone and you can issue commands, then there is nothing to worry about. Been there done that dozens of times with the M7. After playing with this M8, seems to be the same. Let us know where you are stuck, i.e. don't know the commands, or don't know where to find the zips.

---------- Post added at 09:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:01 PM ----------



He wiped the OS, which is Android, thus he can't just plug it in and transfer files back and forth anymore.

i think i got the right zip. nm not the right one.
Last edited by pixelsquish; 20th June 2014 at 05:31 PM.
20th June 2014, 04:56 PM   |  #14  
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nottingham, UK
Thanks Meter: 1,213
 
1,848 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
If you want, set up a TeamViewer session and I will fix it for you.
My thread is here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=43588969
20th June 2014, 05:34 PM   |  #15  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt

If you want, set up a TeamViewer session and I will fix it for you.
My thread is here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=43588969

oh pretty cool. i have the sd card now and going to try. otherwise i may take you up on your offer.

anyone have a link to the right ROM zip file to flash for AT&T version phone?

EDiT: NM Found the thread in the Development section. Flashed it. Currently it's booting up, Android is upgrading optimizing all apps.
Last edited by pixelsquish; 20th June 2014 at 05:47 PM.
20th June 2014, 06:05 PM   |  #16  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelsquish

oh pretty cool. i have the sd card now and going to try. otherwise i may take you up on your offer.

anyone have a link to the right ROM zip file to flash for AT&T version phone?

EDiT: NM Found the thread in the Development section. Flashed it. Currently it's booting up, Android is upgrading optimizing all apps.

very strange. after flashing and rebooting, i didn't have a clean install of Android, all my customizations and apps from before were installed. and i got the same random reboots. so all that info was still on the phone. went back into recovery and wiped everything, then re-flashed. now have a fresh clean install of stock 4.4.2

Thanks everyone! i kinda thought the sd card thing would be the easiest but the comments in this thread confirmed it and it worked.
23rd June 2014, 10:02 AM   |  #17  
exocetdj's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Bristol, UK
Thanks Meter: 2,229
 
3,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelsquish

very strange. after flashing and rebooting, i didn't have a clean install of Android, all my customizations and apps from before were installed. and i got the same random reboots. so all that info was still on the phone. went back into recovery and wiped everything, then re-flashed. now have a fresh clean install of stock 4.4.2

Thanks everyone! i kinda thought the sd card thing would be the easiest but the comments in this thread confirmed it and it worked.

That's the beauty of the sd card slot mate, i have saved my m8 countless times. i would always make a backup of your phone prior to tinkering but this really helps save ur ass if you forget to backup.

Glad everything is ok and that this simple solution worked

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One (M8) Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank