Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,164 Members 50,222 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Change MAC adress on S3 mini CM11

Tip us?
 
macieek1235
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 34
Join Date: Mar 2014
Prompt [Q] Change MAC adress on S3 mini CM11

How can I change the MAC adress on my phone (with CM 11)
I tried in terminal
su
busybox iplink show wlan0
etc.
but I got iplink: applet not found

I installed busybox 1.22.1-Stericson

What shoul I do to change Mac adress on my phone?
 
adrianopl
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2014
Hi

su
ip link set wlan0 address 00:00:00:00:00:00
The Following User Says Thank You to adrianopl For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
macieek1235
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 34
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianopl View Post
Hi

su
ip link set wlan0 address 00:00:00:00:00:00
It doesn't work

I get "Cannot find device "wlan0"
Why???
 
macieek1235
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 34
Join Date: Mar 2014
Please, could someone help me?
 
tys0n
Old
#5  
tys0n's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,235
Posts: 1,979
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stockholm
Quote:
Originally Posted by macieek1235 View Post
How can I change the MAC adress on my phone (with CM 11)
I tried in terminal
su
busybox iplink show wlan0
etc.
but I got iplink: applet not found

I installed busybox 1.22.1-Stericson

What shoul I do to change Mac adress on my phone?
I can see my mac adress in "/efs/wifi/.mac.info" & "/efs/wifi/.mac.cob"

There is also something about mac in "/etc/wifi/nvram_net.txt" but it doesnt show same adress.
Isn't mac adress somehow coded in the hardware?

I suggest you make a full backup of efs and related partitions if you want to try to change anything, and also make sure you know how to restore them. Messing around with them can get your IMEI wiped.
 
macieek1235
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 34
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by tys0n View Post
I can see my mac adress in "/efs/wifi/.mac.info" & "/efs/wifi/.mac.cob"

There is also something about mac in "/etc/wifi/nvram_net.txt" but it doesnt show same adress.
Isn't mac adress somehow coded in the hardware?

I suggest you make a full backup of efs and related partitions if you want to try to change anything, and also make sure you know how to restore them. Messing around with them can get your IMEI wiped.
yes it is coded in hardware but I think I can change it not in hardware but in software because a read about that many times but people did it on the other phones.

Do you think I should change mac adress in "/efs/wifi/.mac.info" & "/efs/wifi/.mac.cob"?

P.S. I haven,t got any problems with doing backup (including efs partition)
 
tys0n
Old
#7  
tys0n's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,235
Posts: 1,979
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stockholm
Quote:
Originally Posted by macieek1235 View Post
yes it is coded in hardware but I think I can change it not in hardware but in software because a read about that many times but people did it on the other phones.

Do you think I should change mac adress in "/efs/wifi/.mac.info" & "/efs/wifi/.mac.cob"?

P.S. I haven,t got any problems with doing backup (including efs partition)
Yeah, I guess you can try but you're responsible for what you do with your phone
I doubt your IMEI will get wiped or anything by changing those, if it's even possible.

Tags
adress, mac, wi-fi
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes