Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more
Post Reply

[Q] Change MAC adress on S3 mini CM11

27th May 2014, 07:39 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
How can I change the MAC adress on my phone (with CM 11)
I tried in terminal
su
busybox iplink show wlan0
etc.
but I got iplink: applet not found

I installed busybox 1.22.1-Stericson

What should I do to change Mac adress on my phone?

EDIT

su
ip link set wlan0 address 00:00:00:00:00:00

That commad works but I have to turn on wi-fi before type it
Last edited by macieek1235; 7th September 2014 at 12:06 PM. Reason: Found solution
28th May 2014, 03:28 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Hi

su
ip link set wlan0 address 00:00:00:00:00:00
The Following User Says Thank You to adrianopl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 08:58 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianopl

Hi

su
ip link set wlan0 address 00:00:00:00:00:00

It doesn't work

I get "Cannot find device "wlan0"
Why???
21st June 2014, 08:50 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Please, could someone help me?
22nd June 2014, 01:29 PM   |  #5  
tys0n's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 1,246
 
1,982 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by macieek1235

How can I change the MAC adress on my phone (with CM 11)
I tried in terminal
su
busybox iplink show wlan0
etc.
but I got iplink: applet not found

I installed busybox 1.22.1-Stericson

What shoul I do to change Mac adress on my phone?

I can see my mac adress in "/efs/wifi/.mac.info" & "/efs/wifi/.mac.cob"

There is also something about mac in "/etc/wifi/nvram_net.txt" but it doesnt show same adress.
Isn't mac adress somehow coded in the hardware?

I suggest you make a full backup of efs and related partitions if you want to try to change anything, and also make sure you know how to restore them. Messing around with them can get your IMEI wiped.
22nd June 2014, 02:21 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by tys0n

I can see my mac adress in "/efs/wifi/.mac.info" & "/efs/wifi/.mac.cob"

There is also something about mac in "/etc/wifi/nvram_net.txt" but it doesnt show same adress.
Isn't mac adress somehow coded in the hardware?

I suggest you make a full backup of efs and related partitions if you want to try to change anything, and also make sure you know how to restore them. Messing around with them can get your IMEI wiped.

yes it is coded in hardware but I think I can change it not in hardware but in software because a read about that many times but people did it on the other phones.

Do you think I should change mac adress in "/efs/wifi/.mac.info" & "/efs/wifi/.mac.cob"?

P.S. I haven,t got any problems with doing backup (including efs partition)
23rd June 2014, 11:34 AM   |  #7  
tys0n's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 1,246
 
1,982 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by macieek1235

yes it is coded in hardware but I think I can change it not in hardware but in software because a read about that many times but people did it on the other phones.

Do you think I should change mac adress in "/efs/wifi/.mac.info" & "/efs/wifi/.mac.cob"?

P.S. I haven,t got any problems with doing backup (including efs partition)

Yeah, I guess you can try but you're responsible for what you do with your phone
I doubt your IMEI will get wiped or anything by changing those, if it's even possible.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
adress, mac, wi-fi
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes