Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Initialize Samsung Galaxy S4 Via Kies 3

OP maxtroy0

23rd June 2014, 04:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Hi Guys! I have a rooted T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S4 running 4.4.2. If i initialize it via kies 3, will there be no problem? Will I be able to root it again?
Last edited by maxtroy0; 23rd June 2014 at 04:40 AM. Reason: there was a mistake
23rd June 2014, 05:32 AM   |  #2  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 872
 
2,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
What do you mean initialize? Like perform a reset? Root has been achievable in every android version for this device so I think that answers your second question

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to serio22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd June 2014, 05:54 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22

What do you mean initialize? Like perform a reset? Root has been achievable in every android version for this device so I think that answers your second question

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Yes, I want to perform a reset. By the way, do you know how to flash back the stock recovery?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using XDA Free mobile app
Last edited by maxtroy0; 23rd June 2014 at 03:10 PM.
23rd June 2014, 06:06 AM   |  #4  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 872
 
2,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
You can flash it back with stock firmware.. If you want to reset I suggest you use Odin instead of kies.. Download 4.4.2 firmware from fenny and flash it with Odin.. Flashing the firmware will also flash stock recovery

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to serio22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd June 2014, 04:36 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22

You can flash it back with stock firmware.. If you want to reset I suggest you use Odin instead of kies.. Download 4.4.2 firmware from fenny and flash it with Odin.. Flashing the firmware will also flash stock recovery

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

I'm gonna try it, but my real problem is I can't access my recovery by holding the three buttons... Whatever the recovery I install... I can access it only via a rom manager... Do you know how to fix that?

Sent from my GT-I9505G using XDA Free mobile app
23rd June 2014, 06:10 PM   |  #6  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 872
 
2,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxtroy0

I'm gonna try it, but my real problem is I can't access my recovery by holding the three buttons... Whatever the recovery I install... I can access it only via a rom manager... Do you know how to fix that?

Sent from my GT-I9505G using XDA Free mobile app

why are you trying to boot to recovery? press and hold the power and volume down buttons and let go of both as soon as you see the blue 'recovery is booting' message

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
23rd June 2014, 07:00 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22

why are you trying to boot to recovery? press and hold the power and volume down buttons and let go of both as soon as you see the blue 'recovery is booting' message

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

I usually use the recovery to install roms and others... that method wasn't working... I fixed it, now it works perfectly. Thanks!
Last edited by maxtroy0; 23rd June 2014 at 07:05 PM.
23rd June 2014, 07:03 PM   |  #8  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 872
 
2,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxtroy0

I usually use the recovery to install rom and others... that method wasn't working... I fixed it, now it works perfectly. Thanks!

ok I thought you were trying to reset from recovery but never mind then

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes