Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,501 Members 48,545 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] network operator called US instead of Tmobile with Omnirom

Tip us?
 
jonjilla
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default [Q] network operator called US instead of Tmobile with Omnirom

Hello, I just installed the new OMNIROM 4.4.3 for T0LTE. My SIM is Tmobile and it used to be called Tmobile, but not is being called "US". Is this normal? Any reason why the operator name is no longer Tmobile with this ROM?
 
Coug76
Old
#2  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 595
Posts: 1,749
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East of Seattle
It's normal. Change the APN if it really bugs you.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
 
jonjilla
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76 View Post
It's normal. Change the APN if it really bugs you.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
Thanks, but I don't see where in the APN that is set.
 
Blueracer90
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonjilla View Post
Hello, I just installed the new OMNIROM 4.4.3 for T0LTE. My SIM is Tmobile and it used to be called Tmobile, but not is being called "US". Is this normal? Any reason why the operator name is no longer Tmobile with this ROM?
Are you talking about the text that is displayed on the lock screen?
 
jonjilla
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blueracer90 View Post
Are you talking about the text that is displayed on the lock screen?
In all places that reference the network carrier. The lock screen, and in the About Phone --> Status --> Network. It says US there also. And if you try to manually select the network operator, tmobile doesn't show up, and only US is available (in addition to AT&T and Verizon).

In my previous ROM (which was CM11 for T0LTETMO) it used to say Tmobile. Note, when I use CM11 for T0LTE, I also see the operator called "US" instead of "Tmobile"
 
Coug76
Old
#6  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 595
Posts: 1,749
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East of Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonjilla View Post
Thanks, but I don't see where in the APN that is set.
Sorry. Should have been "change the build.prop".

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
 
MinionInNC
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76 View Post
Sorry. Should have been "change the build.prop".

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
Having the same problem, checked in the build.prop, found the one that said US, changed it to T-Mobile, rebooted and still shows US on the lockscreen. Edited the APN settings as well, still shows US. Not that its a big deal, just bugs me a little bit.
 
Coug76
Old
#8  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 595
Posts: 1,749
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East of Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by MinionInNC View Post
Having the same problem, checked in the build.prop, found the one that said US, changed it to T-Mobile, rebooted and still shows US on the lockscreen. Edited the APN settings as well, still shows US. Not that its a big deal, just bugs me a little bit.
I'm tinkering with a source build to see if I can make it Tmo specific.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Blur Your System Notification Panel – XDA Developer TV

Listen, we love innovative applications and modules that … more

Android 4.4.3 Begins Rolling Out to European HTC One M8

Shortly after the USA Unlocked and Developer Editions of the HTC One M8 received the … more