Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Crazy Touch Screen Not Responding Bugs with my G3

OP deedscreen

23rd June 2014, 10:42 PM   |  #1  
deedscreen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 139
 
1,050 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
So most of us know about the System UI crash when using Chromecast, but this is even stranger. [Edit: an OTA update fixed this.] Some times, when I wake my phone up at the lockscreen or at times in the middle of a call - the touch screen stops responding. I can press and/or hold the volume buttons and there is a response on screen but I can not interact with the phone at that point. I can't continue to do battery pulls everytime. This is crazy. I'm on stock software. No crazy mods or anything. I've done a reset in the past and flashed the stock package again but this still happens every few hours. Only happens when the screen just wakes up...

Edit: This is a confirmed fix for me.

If you face the same issue, try:

open dialer
press 3845#* INSERT THREE DIGETS OF YOUR MODEL NUMBER THE PRESS #, for example, I am the F400K, so 3845#*400#
Hardware Device Test > Touch
update touch firmware
touch firmware version
wait 10 sec
reboot
Last edited by deedscreen; 16th July 2014 at 06:29 PM. Reason: Code Fix/Confirmed Fix
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to deedscreen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd June 2014, 11:07 PM   |  #2  
Lennyuk's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Essex, England
Thanks Meter: 1,654
 
6,091 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
I would say there is a misbehaving app causing the phone to lag in wake (that is all the unresponsiveness will be, extreme lag).

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
24th June 2014, 12:42 AM   |  #3  
deedscreen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 139
 
1,050 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
@Lennyuk - tried for over 30minutes after leaving it alone, I doubt it's a delay... Battery pulls work, but that's not the point.
24th June 2014, 12:53 AM   |  #4  
Account currently disabled
Flag phoenix
Thanks Meter: 1,035
 
2,634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deedscreen

@Lennyuk - tried for over 30minutes after leaving it alone, I doubt it's a delay... Battery pulls work, but that's not the point.

That was not his point.....to Find the app that is causing it go one by one uninstalling until you find it.... Something probably to do with app and the screen

Sent from my SM-N900P using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
24th June 2014, 02:24 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epix4G

That was not his point.....to Find the app that is causing it go one by one uninstalling until you find it.... Something probably to do with app and the screen

Sent from my SM-N900P using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2

Totally agree with @Epix4G on this one. I am assuming you had a korean variant? The SK Telecom stock image is pretty ugly. Took me 3 debloat attempts before I had it behaving the way I wanted it to, but before I debloated, I had some lag issues (SK Telecom... grrrhhh).

Historically, Korean carriers (much like AT&T and Verizon) love putting useless junk on the phones for "productivity" but really they are there to charge Korean users more for other services, etc.

If you haven't done so, I would root and debloat, and see how big of a difference it makes (absolutely amazing performance after debloating on my F400S).
Last edited by mikeythedude; 24th June 2014 at 02:35 AM.
26th June 2014, 09:09 PM   |  #6  
deedscreen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 139
 
1,050 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
^^^^ - Will take that into consideration.

This may be a possible fix for now, can't yet confirm


open dialer
press 3845#* INSERT THREE DIGETS OF YOUR MODEL NUMBER THE PRESS #, for example, I am the F400K, so 3845#*400#
Hardware Device Test > Touch
update touch firmware
touch firmware version
wait 10 sec

reboot

It may or may not help


EDIT: It's been a few weeks and I haven't had this issue again. Usually every 4-6 hours it used to happen after powering on the screen, but so far so good.
Last edited by deedscreen; 16th July 2014 at 06:32 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to deedscreen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th July 2014, 12:13 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 4
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Tried that with 855 version, it's not working. This is REALLY depressing as i just got a new phone and from day one i'm having this problem. I just can't believe LG screwed up like this, and there's no mention of this anywhere online other than this XDA thread. I hope i don't have to root and install custom rom as this really defeats the purpose of the phone.
15th July 2014, 05:36 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
@deedscreen

I'm having exactly the same problem on an 850 and tried your firmware method. The version number of the firmware did not change after reboot.

ic_fw_version info
SYnaptics 5.5
PanelType 1
version: v1.22
IC_product_id[PLG313]
Touch IC : s3528(family_id = 1, fw_rev = 1)


What version is your firmware? Also, did you find out about the fix from somewhere?
16th July 2014, 06:20 PM   |  #9  
deedscreen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 139
 
1,050 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
I have the F400K, but just got a US T-Mobile edition, (I'll eventually switch my signature). I would honestly suggest waiting for an OTA update. Call LG so they can document this. If that touchscreen update method doesn't work, I'm not sure what to do. I found the method somewhere online, I don't recall where exactly. If someone can figure out how to side load the touch screen firmware from a working Korean model to others, that would be great. For now, keep calling LG. It won't do much at first, but at least they'll have reports of this issue.

I have (RAW) touch screen firmware version: 30 05 51 96
Last edited by deedscreen; 16th July 2014 at 06:36 PM.
23rd July 2014, 11:21 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Same problem, but not only on lock screen
Since 5 days I have my G3 (855 Modell). I was happy the first two days, then I discovered the problem, that the device is always unlocking itself, when in my front pocket. It's because of the Knock on feature. I deactivated this now.

But since yesterday i have the same issue: three times, i was unable to unlock my phone. The touchscreen simply did not respond. I had to remove battery. Today, I read this post and tried the firmware update of the touch, but I have the impression it did not change something in the version.

After this, today I had again once time the non responding touch while unlocking and shortly after, I had the issue after ending a phone call! The touch did no longer respond and had to remove the battery again!

I hope this is not a hardware issue, otherwise I will hurry up to the seller to exchange the phone, because its only 5 days old.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes