Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

YU Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

sleep reboots into twrp

OP Manbearpiglets

21st June 2014, 09:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
I have a v1 Kindle Fire, and I've been using TWRP for a very long time, haven't touched any of that stuff for ages, pretty much forgot about it because it's been so long since I needed to do anything with root access etc.

Randomly, within the past few days, the Kindle Fire has started rebooing into TWRP every single time I tap the button to put it to sleep. It's a bit annoying. Any ideas?
Last edited by Manbearpiglets; 21st June 2014 at 09:58 PM.
21st June 2014, 10:17 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
That new Update
Had the same problem here, it was driving me nuts because as you I didn't touch any settings of the root, been pretty fine for months.
But it seems that Amazon published a update (6.3.3) for the Kindle Fire 1st gen, messing with our rooted kindles and putting them on the reboot loop.

As far as I know, there is no way to root it with the new update, hope someone finds the way to do so.
22nd June 2014, 05:35 AM   |  #3  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,997
 
4,868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
a few choices
live with reboots
or
downgrade twrp to 2.2.2.1, download 6.3.3 update, rename update.zip, install in twrp, no root yet.
or
install a custom rom

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
22nd June 2014, 07:23 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

a few choices
live with reboots
or
downgrade twrp to 2.2.2.1, download 6.3.3 update, rename update.zip, install in twrp, no root yet.
or
install a custom rom

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

I'm not quite sure I get this. He said it already installed the 6.3.3 update didn't he? And I still have root access.
22nd June 2014, 07:30 AM   |  #5  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,997
 
4,868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manbearpiglets

I'm not quite sure I get this. He said it already installed the 6.3.3 update didn't he? And I still have root access.

no the kindle is rebooting trying to update, but it fails.
how did you verify root? try root checker in play store

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 12:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:28 AM ----------

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...krim.rootcheck

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
22nd June 2014, 09:00 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

no the kindle is rebooting trying to update, but it fails.
how did you verify root? try root checker in play store

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk[COLOR="Silver"]

---------- Post added at 12:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:28 AM ----------

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

I assumed I still had root access after using a memory editor that requires superuser permissions, and modded my attack value in a game through said memory editing, and then I renamed a file in the system directory to disable on the air updates for the Kindle Fire in case it trying to update was causing it to reboot (the file was called otacerts.zip, which is supposed to block the on the air updates for Kindle Fire).
22nd June 2014, 01:47 PM   |  #7  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,997
 
4,868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manbearpiglets

I assumed I still had root access after using a memory editor that requires superuser permissions, and modded my attack value in a game through said memory editing, and then I renamed a file in the system directory to disable on the air updates for the Kindle Fire in case it trying to update was causing it to reboot (the file was called otacerts.zip, which is supposed to block the on the air updates for Kindle Fire).

if you kept root through update, it was a fluke and very lucky .
the reboots people are getting is from the update install failing.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
23rd June 2014, 09:50 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

if you kept root through update, it was a fluke and very lucky .
the reboots people are getting is from the update install failing.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

Yeah, still have root. It seems to reboot 1/4th of the time I try to start it, but once I have it up and running it doesn't reboot until I try to put it to sleep. Inconvenient, but not unmanageable. Thanks for the info, I'll probably stick with it for a while until it becomes too annoying, and then just update without root, maybe by that point it will have been figured out though.
24th June 2014, 01:05 AM   |  #9  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,997
 
4,868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manbearpiglets

Yeah, still have root. It seems to reboot 1/4th of the time I try to start it, but once I have it up and running it doesn't reboot until I try to put it to sleep. Inconvenient, but not unmanageable. Thanks for the info, I'll probably stick with it for a while until it becomes too annoying, and then just update without root, maybe by that point it will have been figured out though.

Did you check system version in settings?

Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes