Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,513 Members 52,729 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

sleep reboots into twrp

Tip us?
 
Manbearpiglets
Old
(Last edited by Manbearpiglets; 21st June 2014 at 08:58 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default sleep reboots into twrp

I have a v1 Kindle Fire, and I've been using TWRP for a very long time, haven't touched any of that stuff for ages, pretty much forgot about it because it's been so long since I needed to do anything with root access etc.

Randomly, within the past few days, the Kindle Fire has started rebooing into TWRP every single time I tap the button to put it to sleep. It's a bit annoying. Any ideas?
 
Mozky
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default That new Update

Had the same problem here, it was driving me nuts because as you I didn't touch any settings of the root, been pretty fine for months.
But it seems that Amazon published a update (6.3.3) for the Kindle Fire 1st gen, messing with our rooted kindles and putting them on the reboot loop.

As far as I know, there is no way to root it with the new update, hope someone finds the way to do so.
 
sd_shadow
Old
#3  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1232
Posts: 3,340
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota
a few choices
live with reboots
or
downgrade twrp to 2.2.2.1, download 6.3.3 update, rename update.zip, install in twrp, no root yet.
or
install a custom rom

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
 
Manbearpiglets
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow View Post
a few choices
live with reboots
or
downgrade twrp to 2.2.2.1, download 6.3.3 update, rename update.zip, install in twrp, no root yet.
or
install a custom rom

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
I'm not quite sure I get this. He said it already installed the 6.3.3 update didn't he? And I still have root access.
 
sd_shadow
Old
#5  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1232
Posts: 3,340
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manbearpiglets View Post
I'm not quite sure I get this. He said it already installed the 6.3.3 update didn't he? And I still have root access.
no the kindle is rebooting trying to update, but it fails.
how did you verify root? try root checker in play store

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 12:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:28 AM ----------

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...krim.rootcheck

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
 
Manbearpiglets
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow View Post
no the kindle is rebooting trying to update, but it fails.
how did you verify root? try root checker in play store

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk[COLOR="Silver"]

---------- Post added at 12:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:28 AM ----------

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
I assumed I still had root access after using a memory editor that requires superuser permissions, and modded my attack value in a game through said memory editing, and then I renamed a file in the system directory to disable on the air updates for the Kindle Fire in case it trying to update was causing it to reboot (the file was called otacerts.zip, which is supposed to block the on the air updates for Kindle Fire).
 
sd_shadow
Old
#7  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1232
Posts: 3,340
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manbearpiglets View Post
I assumed I still had root access after using a memory editor that requires superuser permissions, and modded my attack value in a game through said memory editing, and then I renamed a file in the system directory to disable on the air updates for the Kindle Fire in case it trying to update was causing it to reboot (the file was called otacerts.zip, which is supposed to block the on the air updates for Kindle Fire).
if you kept root through update, it was a fluke and very lucky .
the reboots people are getting is from the update install failing.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
 
Manbearpiglets
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow View Post
if you kept root through update, it was a fluke and very lucky .
the reboots people are getting is from the update install failing.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
Yeah, still have root. It seems to reboot 1/4th of the time I try to start it, but once I have it up and running it doesn't reboot until I try to put it to sleep. Inconvenient, but not unmanageable. Thanks for the info, I'll probably stick with it for a while until it becomes too annoying, and then just update without root, maybe by that point it will have been figured out though.
 
sd_shadow
Old
#9  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1232
Posts: 3,340
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manbearpiglets View Post
Yeah, still have root. It seems to reboot 1/4th of the time I try to start it, but once I have it up and running it doesn't reboot until I try to put it to sleep. Inconvenient, but not unmanageable. Thanks for the info, I'll probably stick with it for a while until it becomes too annoying, and then just update without root, maybe by that point it will have been figured out though.
Did you check system version in settings?

Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more

Galaxy Photo Screen Lock Displays a Photo Slideshow on Your Lock Screen

Being the most often looked at part of our devices UI, the lock … more