Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Install Stock Recovery

OP niftycalls

23rd June 2014, 05:40 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 2
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Hi Experts,

i had rooted my phone a while back and installed custom recovery , and was on stock ROM.
Due to issues on official emails, i had to unroot my phone and relock it.

All is fine, however i did miss 1 step, that is, i still have a diff recovery on it, and i want to install my stock recovery back so that i can install OTA.

I do have the stock recovery (i think).
So is theree a quick way to do that without unlocking the bootloader again or without losing any data?

Let me know PLEASE!

Regards
Manas
23rd June 2014, 08:07 PM   |  #2  
Thant's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sofia
Thanks Meter: 623
 
2,032 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by niftycalls

Hi Experts,

i had rooted my phone a while back and installed custom recovery , and was on stock ROM.
Due to issues on official emails, i had to unroot my phone and relock it.

All is fine, however i did miss 1 step, that is, i still have a diff recovery on it, and i want to install my stock recovery back so that i can install OTA.

I do have the stock recovery (i think).
So is theree a quick way to do that without unlocking the bootloader again or without losing any data?

Let me know PLEASE!

Regards
Manas

post result from command fastboot getvar version-main and we will find you the stock recovery
24th June 2014, 08:37 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 2
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
@Thant, the issue is not really finding the stock recovery, i assume i have it, question is -

"All is fine, however i did miss 1 step, that is, i still have a diff recovery on it, and i want to install my stock recovery back so that i can install OTA."
"So is theree a quick way to do that without unlocking the bootloader again or without losing any data?"
24th June 2014, 02:39 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
417 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by niftycalls

@Thant, the issue is not really finding the stock recovery, i assume i have it, question is -

"All is fine, however i did miss 1 step, that is, i still have a diff recovery on it, and i want to install my stock recovery back so that i can install OTA."
"So is theree a quick way to do that without unlocking the bootloader again or without losing any data?"

as i can remember even if your bootloader is unlocked as long as you have stock recovery you can update.. just make sure you have a backup of all your data.
24th June 2014, 03:07 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 2
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Phew.. So my booloader is RE LOCKED now, and i just want to install the stock recovery... without losing data or unlocking the bootloader........possible???
24th June 2014, 03:29 PM   |  #6  
M@c|-|oR's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Niš
Thanks Meter: 290
 
894 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by niftycalls

Phew.. So my booloader is RE LOCKED now, and i just want to install the stock recovery... without losing data or unlocking the bootloader........possible???

No.
To flash recovery, your bootloader must be unlocked. Do you still have unlock.bin file?
24th June 2014, 03:35 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 2
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M@c|-|oR

No.
To flash recovery, your bootloader must be unlocked. Do you still have unlock.bin file?

yess.. i have the unlock.bin, but then i lose all the data no?
24th June 2014, 03:38 PM   |  #8  
M@c|-|oR's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Niš
Thanks Meter: 290
 
894 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by niftycalls

yess.. i have the unlock.bin, but then i lose all the data no?

As far as I remember you will lose data. Make a backup (Titanium, or similar app) of important data, unlock the bootloader, flash stock recovery, reboot, restore data.
And keep the bootloader unlocked!
24th June 2014, 03:51 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 2
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
damn!! if i keep my bootloader unlocked, i keep getting an error from an anitvirus kinda tool tht i had to install so that i receive my office emails. thanks for your help, will do this when i have a lot of time..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes