Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Google Play Store Payments Available in China

Google has taken a big step to make its services accessible globally. Since the introduction of … more

How to Set a Video as Your Boot Animation

If you wish to make your phone truly unique, you may want to consider adding a nice boot animation. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to upgrade LG Optimus G Pro to KitKat if not on AT&T

OP sharpdesigner

20th June 2014, 07:02 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I have bought an unlocked LG Optimus G Pro and am using it on T-Mobile. It's on JB version 4.1.2. I know AT&T has rolled out KitKat upgrade for Optimus G Pro. I tried to update the software on my phone but it kept saying "Phone not registered to network". I went to LG support page and they redirected me to AT&T for software upgrade. There is no manual download link for the upgrade and AT&T page says it will happen OTA and must have active sim card in it[which I guess means Active ATT sim card].

My question is:
->Is it possible to upgrade it to 4.4.2 version that AT&T has pushed without being on AT&T?
->If so, where can I find the stock/untouched 4.4.2 ROM?


Thanks in advance. Sorry, if this is a repeat question but I did search the threads and didn't find this question anywhere.
20th June 2014, 09:56 AM   |  #2  
micro100's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Its not completely untouched, but its stock 4.4.2 with a few added features like Slide Aside:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2781401

To install this you need to be rooted and have clockworkmod recovery installed. (This will void your warranty!)
If you install this rom on the international version make sure you delete the modem.img in the zip before flashing throught cwm.
But never install the firmware (kdz) from another model with the lg flash tools, i tried this once and it Hard Bricked my phone

But if you like AT&T bloat and dont want a few more G2 features you can ty this rom:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2760895


More information on rooting and installing cwm on the G Pro:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2460859
Last edited by micro100; 20th June 2014 at 10:05 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to micro100 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th June 2014, 03:34 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by micro100

Its not completely untouched, but its stock 4.4.2 with a few added features like Slide Aside:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2781401

To install this you need to be rooted and have clockworkmod recovery installed. (This will void your warranty!)
If you install this rom on the international version make sure you delete the modem.img in the zip before flashing throught cwm.
But never install the firmware (kdz) from another model with the lg flash tools, i tried this once and it Hard Bricked my phone

But if you like AT&T bloat and dont want a few more G2 features you can ty this rom:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2760895


More information on rooting and installing cwm on the G Pro:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2460859

Thank you very much. Never rooted Android, will look in to the links you have sent to try to figure something out!
20th June 2014, 04:06 PM   |  #4  
micro100's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
But if you dont want to get any trouble with the first rom i sent you should delete the recovery.img, aboot.img and the modem.img because without this i figured out that it can cause Problems where the phone does not either boot or go in recovery. I just want to save you from this Problem because it can be tricky to restore the phone with the LG flash Tool.


Gesendet von iPad mit Tapatalk
20th June 2014, 11:29 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Unhappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by micro100

But if you dont want to get any trouble with the first rom i sent you should delete the recovery.img, aboot.img and the modem.img because without this i figured out that it can cause Problems where the phone does not either boot or go in recovery. I just want to save you from this Problem because it can be tricky to restore the phone with the LG flash Tool.


Gesendet von iPad mit Tapatalk

Ouch!!!!
I am a root n00b. Is there any thread that can guide me to how to root, how to install a ROM and how to revert back to original rom in step by step way :S
Sorry for this question, but seems like XDA has become too big to search these smaller things now
22nd June 2014, 11:46 AM   |  #6  
micro100's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharpdesigner

Ouch!!!!
I am a root n00b. Is there any thread that can guide me to how to root, how to install a ROM and how to revert back to original rom in step by step way :S
Sorry for this question, but seems like XDA has become too big to search these smaller things now

Read this:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2460859
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2420219
24th June 2014, 08:17 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Thumbs up
Thanks! I bought a brand new Sprint LG G2 and used 1.62FacedRom to flash it for T-Mobile and is working perfectly even though i have a feeling the speaker output is very low.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes