Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,899 Members 48,970 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to upgrade LG Optimus G Pro to KitKat if not on AT&T

Tip us?
 
sharpdesigner
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jun 2011
Question [Q] How to upgrade LG Optimus G Pro to KitKat if not on AT&T

I have bought an unlocked LG Optimus G Pro and am using it on T-Mobile. It's on JB version 4.1.2. I know AT&T has rolled out KitKat upgrade for Optimus G Pro. I tried to update the software on my phone but it kept saying "Phone not registered to network". I went to LG support page and they redirected me to AT&T for software upgrade. There is no manual download link for the upgrade and AT&T page says it will happen OTA and must have active sim card in it[which I guess means Active ATT sim card].

My question is:
->Is it possible to upgrade it to 4.4.2 version that AT&T has pushed without being on AT&T?
->If so, where can I find the stock/untouched 4.4.2 ROM?


Thanks in advance. Sorry, if this is a repeat question but I did search the threads and didn't find this question anywhere.
 
micro100
Old
(Last edited by micro100; 20th June 2014 at 09:05 AM.)
#2  
micro100's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 75
Join Date: Feb 2014
Its not completely untouched, but its stock 4.4.2 with a few added features like Slide Aside:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2781401

To install this you need to be rooted and have clockworkmod recovery installed. (This will void your warranty!)
If you install this rom on the international version make sure you delete the modem.img in the zip before flashing throught cwm.
But never install the firmware (kdz) from another model with the lg flash tools, i tried this once and it Hard Bricked my phone

But if you like AT&T bloat and dont want a few more G2 features you can ty this rom:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2760895


More information on rooting and installing cwm on the G Pro:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2460859
The Following User Says Thank You to micro100 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sharpdesigner
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by micro100 View Post
Its not completely untouched, but its stock 4.4.2 with a few added features like Slide Aside:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2781401

To install this you need to be rooted and have clockworkmod recovery installed. (This will void your warranty!)
If you install this rom on the international version make sure you delete the modem.img in the zip before flashing throught cwm.
But never install the firmware (kdz) from another model with the lg flash tools, i tried this once and it Hard Bricked my phone

But if you like AT&T bloat and dont want a few more G2 features you can ty this rom:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2760895


More information on rooting and installing cwm on the G Pro:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2460859
Thank you very much. Never rooted Android, will look in to the links you have sent to try to figure something out!
 
micro100
Old
#4  
micro100's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 75
Join Date: Feb 2014
But if you dont want to get any trouble with the first rom i sent you should delete the recovery.img, aboot.img and the modem.img because without this i figured out that it can cause Problems where the phone does not either boot or go in recovery. I just want to save you from this Problem because it can be tricky to restore the phone with the LG flash Tool.


Gesendet von iPad mit Tapatalk
My work:
S5 Themed GlanceView

Current Devices:
Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505
iPad mini with Retina Display
iPod touch 4g

Previous Devices:
LG Optimus G Pro
iPhone 4
Nexus 7 2012
LG Optimus L7
Sony Ericsson W910i
 
sharpdesigner
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by micro100 View Post
But if you dont want to get any trouble with the first rom i sent you should delete the recovery.img, aboot.img and the modem.img because without this i figured out that it can cause Problems where the phone does not either boot or go in recovery. I just want to save you from this Problem because it can be tricky to restore the phone with the LG flash Tool.


Gesendet von iPad mit Tapatalk
Ouch!!!!
I am a root n00b. Is there any thread that can guide me to how to root, how to install a ROM and how to revert back to original rom in step by step way :S
Sorry for this question, but seems like XDA has become too big to search these smaller things now
 
micro100
Old
#6  
micro100's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 75
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharpdesigner View Post
Ouch!!!!
I am a root n00b. Is there any thread that can guide me to how to root, how to install a ROM and how to revert back to original rom in step by step way :S
Sorry for this question, but seems like XDA has become too big to search these smaller things now
Read this:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2460859
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2420219
 
sharpdesigner
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jun 2011
Thanks! I bought a brand new Sprint LG G2 and used 1.62FacedRom to flash it for T-Mobile and is working perfectly even though i have a feeling the speaker output is very low.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Replace Your Stock Phone App with Reactiv Dialer

Your smartphone’s dialer app is obviously one of the most frequently used apps you … more

How to Factory Reset your Samsung Gear Live Android Wear SmartWatch – XDA Developer TV

Do you want to Factory Reset your Samsung Gear … more

Get Your Special xda:devcon ’14 Hotel And Conference Rate While It Lasts

By now you’ve definitely heard about XDA’s … more

Google Chromecast Rootable Once Again!

Over the six months, theGoogle Chromecasthas gained a considerable amount of official functionality. … more