Sony Xperia Z3 Lollipop Framework Ported to CM12

Android 5.0 for Xperia has a unique look and feel. You don’t have to get a Sony … more

Do You Use Recents as a Task Switcher?

Google introduced a revamped Recents interface with Lollipop in the hopes of making it easier for … more

YU Yureka All-in-One ToolBox (CM12S Only)

This packed toolbox by XDA Senior Member gohel.vishal makes many useful tweaks … more

Sony Xperia Z4 Forum Now Available

Sony’s Xperia line has seen plenty of development on XDA, and now that the Xperia Z4 has been … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Odin Fail OTA NC4

20th June 2014, 06:15 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
I have a OTA Stock 4.4.2 Note 3. I rooted using Gehot's method and all was working fine. Safestrap, SU, Titanium. Decided to flash a rom today since installing the NC2 Kernel via Odin is the trick. DLed Odin 3.09 and the NC2 kernel but it failed. Now anything I do fails and I am stuck on the download screen telling me to use Software Upgrade program. Can i fix this??
 
 
20th June 2014, 02:52 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Colton, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,116
 
3,547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by degr80ne

I have a OTA Stock 4.4.2 Note 3. I rooted using Gehot's method and all was working fine. Safestrap, SU, Titanium. Decided to flash a rom today since installing the NC2 Kernel via Odin is the trick. DLed Odin 3.09 and the NC2 kernel but it failed. Now anything I do fails and I am stuck on the download screen telling me to use Software Upgrade program. Can i fix this??

Did you unzip the NC2 kernel package and use the file inside?
20th June 2014, 02:55 PM |#3  
Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 12
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by degr80ne

I have a OTA Stock 4.4.2 Note 3. I rooted using Gehot's method and all was working fine. Safestrap, SU, Titanium. Decided to flash a rom today since installing the NC2 Kernel via Odin is the trick. DLed Odin 3.09 and the NC2 kernel but it failed. Now anything I do fails and I am stuck on the download screen telling me to use Software Upgrade program. Can i fix this??

I could be wrong but if you updated the with the OTA I think your NC4 upgrade will increment some counter that prevents you from rolling back. Even if you have root. Unless you were already on an nc2 rom...

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
20th June 2014, 06:24 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by airmaxx23

Did you unzip the NC2 kernel package and use the file inside?

yes..i unzipped..the file ends in .tar.md5 loaded it into AP in Odin and fails
20th June 2014, 06:40 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Colton, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,116
 
3,547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by degr80ne

yes..i unzipped..the file ends in .tar.md5 loaded it into AP in Odin and fails

I think the person that posted above your last post is right about not being able to downgrade since you're on the NC4 bootloader. Try booting into the stock recovery and doing a factory reset.
20th June 2014, 08:03 PM |#6  
barrackOBAMA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 334
 
579 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Get into recovery. And factory reset.

If that doesn't work.

Restore your back up in ss.

If you can't even get into safe strap..



You need to flash the appropriate. .Pit file to fix your phone.
23rd June 2014, 03:41 PM |#7  
Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 12
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
The OTA thing is crucial... I really don't think you can roll back if you took the update OverTheAir

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
24th June 2014, 09:47 PM |#8  
ROB281's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 45
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Had the same issue last night, rebooted to recovery factory reset & wipe cache then reboot

If it doesn't work on the first reboot try a couple more times mine booted on the third attempt

While you can't roll firmware back you can still odin the nc2 kernel on a nc4 build
The Following User Says Thank You to ROB281 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes