TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more
Post Reply

Is S-OFF needed to switch carriers ?

OP abhishekk89

25th June 2014, 01:07 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Lafayette, IN
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
I have a T-Mobile HTC One M8 which is bootloader unlocked and rooted with custom recovery. I also have a custom ROM (Viper One) in there. However I couldn't achieve S-OFF (tough luck! ). So my questions is, can I use the phone with other GSM carriers ? I want to start using AT&T service with this phone. Is it possible to use it without S-OFFing ?

Thanks!
25th June 2014, 02:25 AM   |  #2  
BerndM14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 343
 
957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhishekk89

I have a T-Mobile HTC One M8 which is bootloader unlocked and rooted with custom recovery. I also have a custom ROM (Viper One) in there. However I couldn't achieve S-OFF (tough luck! ). So my questions is, can I use the phone with other GSM carriers ? I want to start using AT&T service with this phone. Is it possible to use it without S-OFFing ?

Thanks!

I believe so yes, can't recall seeing anything about unlocking it with S-ON. Have you tried the SunShine method to gain S-OFF?

[Android][HTC S-OFF] SunShine for modern HTC devices

Sure it's $25 but going on most responses it seems well worth the few pennies to gain that extra "freedom". Something to consider perhaps...
25th June 2014, 02:38 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Lafayette, IN
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14

I believe so yes, can't recall seeing anything about unlocking it with S-ON. Have you tried the SunShine method to gain S-OFF?

[Android][HTC S-OFF] SunShine for modern HTC devices

Sure it's $25 but going on most responses it seems well worth the few pennies to gain that extra "freedom". Something to consider perhaps...

Thanks BerndM! Appreciate the response.
25th June 2014, 09:43 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Lafayette, IN
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Turns out I need S-Off to use other carriers. Will probably buy Sunshine's application for S-Off
25th June 2014, 10:13 AM   |  #5  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,111
 
13,371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
You only need S-OFF if your phone is SIM-locked but you can use a pay service to remove the SIM-lock. Unless you have a CDMA phone and are trying to use a GSM SIM in it, in which case probably to stop now...
25th June 2014, 10:17 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag Lafayette, IN
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

You only need S-OFF if your phone is SIM-locked but you can use a pay service to remove the SIM-lock. Unless you have a CDMA phone and are trying to use a GSM SIM in it, in which case probably to stop now...

Isn't it better to pay $25 to our devs and get S-OFF instead of paying some corporate guys just to get my SIM lock removed ? Just my thought
Last edited by Ghost; 25th June 2014 at 01:55 PM. Reason: Removing swearing
25th June 2014, 10:55 AM   |  #7  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,111
 
13,371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Depends if you have to pay or not...

In the UK, not all operators charge to SIM-unlock (that's if the phone even is to begin with, most don't bother these days)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One (M8) Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank