Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Lost my bootanimation and backup doesn't work :/

OP megavigore

25th June 2014, 01:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Hey everyone !First, sorry for my english, I'm french...

I post here because I have a little problem with my rooted Xperia Z1 C6903 (Android 4.4.2 / build 14.3.A.0.761).

I've made a bootanimation and it work perfectly with Bootanimation Viewer, so, I've put it in "system/media" with that name "bootanimation.zip".

I restart my phone and I see the default android bootanimation. '-'
So, I keep the backup and I put it again, I restart again my phone but the default bootanimation continue to appear ! xD

I've tried to install an other bootanimation with Bootanimation Changer app but it doesn't work too.

So I'm lost T_T
Thanks in advance for your help !
25th June 2014, 03:14 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Ok, I have make a blank line at the end and change permission of the zip file and...
My screen going black for infinite time xD
I've use Recovery and my phone work again, but without the bootanimation :/

Here my desc.txt file :

Code:
1080 1920 21
p 42 0 part0
p 0 0 part2
25th June 2014, 11:43 AM   |  #3  
funky0308's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Osijek
Thanks Meter: 5,538
 
6,784 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
If you meant that you saw Sony logo on screen (default android bootanimation) that's kernel animation and you can change that animation only if you edit kernel.

Your animation isn't show, why?
Who knows...

BTW...
Why don't you have par 1 (first part) and part 0 (for a loop)?

Second thing - you have set right permissions for bootanimation?

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
25th June 2014, 11:53 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by funky0308

If you meant that you saw Sony logo on screen (default android bootanimation) that's kernel animation and you can change that animation only if you edit kernel.

Your animation isn't show, why?
Who knows...

BTW...
Why don't you have par 1 (first part) and part 0 (for a loop)?

Second thing - you have set right permissions for bootanimation?

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

The part1 is useless, I keep it for later and I talk about the default "android" bootanimation I talk about that :

t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSplaluRaHe1JM2Z9eUQLLk19_RwAvdO u-o_aJWo543ucQbl69vUNhfphhIJQ
(add http at the begin, I can't post url)
And it's only my bootanimation who doesn't work, the other work fine and I don't know why :/

I set the right permissions because when I put an other bootanimation with the same permission of my bootanimation, it work.

Tanks for your answer
25th June 2014, 12:03 PM   |  #5  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,535
 
9,996 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Make sure you use "storage" as your compression method when adding files to the .zip.

If you use any kind of compression the bootanimation will not work
Last edited by gregbradley; 25th June 2014 at 12:23 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to gregbradley For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th June 2014, 12:18 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

Make sure you use "storage" as you compression method when adding files to the .zip.

If you use any kind of compression the bootanimation will not work

OMG thanks a lot ! It work
25th June 2014, 12:21 PM   |  #7  
funky0308's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Osijek
Thanks Meter: 5,538
 
6,784 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by megavigore

The part1 is useless, I keep it for later and I talk about the default "android" bootanimation I talk about that :

t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSplaluRaHe1JM2Z9eUQLLk19_RwAvdO u-o_aJWo543ucQbl69vUNhfphhIJQ
(add http at the begin, I can't post url)
And it's only my bootanimation who doesn't work, the other work fine and I don't know why :/

I set the right permissions because when I put an other bootanimation with the same permission of my bootanimation, it work.

Tanks for your answer

If you see that part (from the pict) that could mean you see only one part of animation.

That could be desc file problem.
Try to use bootanimation that already worked for you.
Add your files in it (your pngs) IN STORAGE MODE) and see what's happening.

You have great tool - bootanimation creator - use tools like that.

Most animatuon won't work if you just created zip and folders in it...
There are nice tool for animations all iver Internet and they will do dirty job for you.

I created few animations with bootanimation creator, I extracted picts from Adobe After Effects video that I created and that tool made perfect bootanimation...
There was thousands of pngs and if that went well I'm sure it will help here too...


First part of desc say -
Show this image for 42 times
Second part is saying -
Loop this folder

That should be OK...

Try to set and play with fps, try to set 24 or higher and see what's happening.

One tip -
Find one flashable bootanimation and put it on sdcard.
That way if anything goes wrong, just go to recovery and flash that animation instead of long system recovery


One of my animation for Z1 (don't use one from OP on Z2 - it won't work, use one from last few pages)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2673821

I'm using desc in this way

Part 1 and part 0 and that's it.

If you have statics pict that you want to show xy of times that ok, you can write "42" (in your case) but pngs are 200-400kb so you can try to copy it and have 42 files and then use desc like this one from pict (above)...

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
Last edited by funky0308; 25th June 2014 at 12:38 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to funky0308 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th June 2014, 12:46 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Thanks for the tutorial

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes