Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,313 Members 48,076 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to install ROM on bootlooped GS3?

Tip us?
 
collad0
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default [Q] How to install ROM on bootlooped GS3?

So long story short I attempted to update my GS3 to the official ota 4.4.2 and it installed 100% but now will not boot past the AT&T logo. It revolves about three times then freezes. I am still able to get into recovery/download mode and I was wondering how I can either get it to fully boot or install some other rom? Pretty noobish at this have only rooted twice and installed CM via the installer. Any help would be appreciated!
 
pre4speed
Old
#2  
pre4speed's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 345
Posts: 1,559
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: lancaster

 
DONATE TO ME
Try a factory reset in recovery to see if that helps.
 
collad0
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by pre4speed View Post
Try a factory reset in recovery to see if that helps.
Ive tried that a few times already along with wiping the cache but nothing
 
BWolf56
Old
#4  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,698
Posts: 3,863
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outaouais

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by collad0 View Post
Ive tried that a few times already along with wiping the cache but nothing
You might have to try with Kies if you wanna keep the official.

I'm not sure if there is a flashable zip of 4.4.4 yet.
Sent by falcon messenger while riding a laser equipped T-rex on a rocket
>>Get Dropbox right here<<
>>Rogers LTE tethering mod<<
LG G3 D852
ROM: Stock debloated
Kernel: 3.4.0
Launcher: Nova

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelendel
Jig ~ You should never need one but.. Use the condom theory.
 
collad0
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56 View Post
You might have to try with Kies if you wanna keep the official.

I'm not sure if there is a flashable zip of 4.4.4 yet.
Kies was the first thing I went to but unfortunately when I put in my s/n it says its not correct and to keep trying :/ Don't really care if its official or not just want to get it in a working state lol
 
BWolf56
Old
#6  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,698
Posts: 3,863
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outaouais

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by collad0 View Post
Kies was the first thing I went to but unfortunately when I put in my s/n it says its not correct and to keep trying :/ Don't really care if its official or not just want to get it in a working state lol
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...34&postcount=2 might be useful then.
Sent by falcon messenger while riding a laser equipped T-rex on a rocket
>>Get Dropbox right here<<
>>Rogers LTE tethering mod<<
LG G3 D852
ROM: Stock debloated
Kernel: 3.4.0
Launcher: Nova

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelendel
Jig ~ You should never need one but.. Use the condom theory.
The Following User Says Thank You to BWolf56 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
collad0
Old
(Last edited by collad0; 25th June 2014 at 04:46 PM.)
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56 View Post
Thanks but im not 100% sure what to do. Can I flash cwm via odin then flash the rom? Because my gs3 is recognized by my computer but im not able to access it like a hard drive to drag the files in.

Edit: If I had an external sd card could I load cwm and say cm11 from there?
 
BWolf56
Old
#8  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,698
Posts: 3,863
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outaouais

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by collad0 View Post
Thanks but im not 100% sure what to do. Can I flash cwm via odin then flash the rom? Because my gs3 is recognized by my computer but im not able to access it like a hard drive to drag the files in.

Edit: If I had an external sd card could I load cwm and say cm11 from there?
Yep, you could use an external SD to flash CM. You'll have to flash cwm or twrp with Odin if you don't already have it.
Sent by falcon messenger while riding a laser equipped T-rex on a rocket
>>Get Dropbox right here<<
>>Rogers LTE tethering mod<<
LG G3 D852
ROM: Stock debloated
Kernel: 3.4.0
Launcher: Nova

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelendel
Jig ~ You should never need one but.. Use the condom theory.
The Following User Says Thank You to BWolf56 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
collad0
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56 View Post
Yep, you could use an external SD to flash CM. You'll have to flash cwm or twrp with Odin if you don't already have it.
Ok thanks a ton!

Tags
gs3
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes