Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to install ROM on bootlooped GS3?

OP collad0

25th June 2014, 04:17 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
So long story short I attempted to update my GS3 to the official ota 4.4.2 and it installed 100% but now will not boot past the AT&T logo. It revolves about three times then freezes. I am still able to get into recovery/download mode and I was wondering how I can either get it to fully boot or install some other rom? Pretty noobish at this have only rooted twice and installed CM via the installer. Any help would be appreciated!
25th June 2014, 09:24 AM   |  #2  
pre4speed's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag lancaster
Thanks Meter: 410
 
1,742 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Try a factory reset in recovery to see if that helps.
25th June 2014, 02:28 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pre4speed

Try a factory reset in recovery to see if that helps.

Ive tried that a few times already along with wiping the cache but nothing
25th June 2014, 02:54 PM   |  #4  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,706
 
3,891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by collad0

Ive tried that a few times already along with wiping the cache but nothing

You might have to try with Kies if you wanna keep the official.

I'm not sure if there is a flashable zip of 4.4.4 yet.
25th June 2014, 03:04 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56

You might have to try with Kies if you wanna keep the official.

I'm not sure if there is a flashable zip of 4.4.4 yet.

Kies was the first thing I went to but unfortunately when I put in my s/n it says its not correct and to keep trying :/ Don't really care if its official or not just want to get it in a working state lol
25th June 2014, 03:46 PM   |  #6  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,706
 
3,891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by collad0

Kies was the first thing I went to but unfortunately when I put in my s/n it says its not correct and to keep trying :/ Don't really care if its official or not just want to get it in a working state lol

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...34&postcount=2 might be useful then.
The Following User Says Thank You to BWolf56 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th June 2014, 05:42 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...34&postcount=2 might be useful then.

Thanks but im not 100% sure what to do. Can I flash cwm via odin then flash the rom? Because my gs3 is recognized by my computer but im not able to access it like a hard drive to drag the files in.

Edit: If I had an external sd card could I load cwm and say cm11 from there?
Last edited by collad0; 25th June 2014 at 05:46 PM.
25th June 2014, 05:57 PM   |  #8  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,706
 
3,891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by collad0

Thanks but im not 100% sure what to do. Can I flash cwm via odin then flash the rom? Because my gs3 is recognized by my computer but im not able to access it like a hard drive to drag the files in.

Edit: If I had an external sd card could I load cwm and say cm11 from there?

Yep, you could use an external SD to flash CM. You'll have to flash cwm or twrp with Odin if you don't already have it.
The Following User Says Thank You to BWolf56 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th June 2014, 06:02 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56

Yep, you could use an external SD to flash CM. You'll have to flash cwm or twrp with Odin if you don't already have it.

Ok thanks a ton!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gs3
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes