Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Where is this 4.4.2 modem people keep referring to?

OP BriskT

25th June 2014, 06:16 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I flashed the Root66 KitKat update for Wind Mobile using Odin. As I was looking through the settings I noticed there were no APNs set. I googled for Wind's APN configuration and manually entered them (before I even tested data, perhaps it was working regardless).

So far I've seen a number of mentions warning against flashing the 4.4.2 modem before flashing the 4.4.2 firmware update. However, I've yet to see the modem posted anywhere. The most recent one in the baseband thread was for 4.3. What am I missing?
25th June 2014, 06:21 PM   |  #2  
anil2653's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 219
 
650 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Normally 4.3 modem will be working for 4.4 too but you should not have older modem then 4.3

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
25th June 2014, 06:47 PM   |  #3  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 872
 
2,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
It hasn't been posted for that same reason, so nobody will attempt to flash.. Anyone can make a flashable zip for the modem, that it why we are letting people know what happens when you try to flash on older firmware

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
25th June 2014, 07:35 PM   |  #4  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,497
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Ill still post the modems in the near future, but wanted to first get that warning out so as many people as possible already know about it when I do. Flashing the 4 4.2 modem on 4.3 firmware has bricked quite a few devices in the Spirit and AT&T forums already. And despite all our efforts, we have yet to get the debrick method to work
That said, if you have a need for the modem, ill get it for you as soon as I can.

And just fyi, after updating to 4.4.2, you cannot use any older modems. They won't brick the device, but you won't have a working radio/signal.
The Following User Says Thank You to DocHoliday77 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes