Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Is my m8's IR blaster spoilt?

OP sgs2noob

9th April 2014, 02:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Have just gotten my M8

tried using the stock TV app first, didnt work... and it also doesn't "learn" from the other remote.

downloaded IR Universal Remote (which worked perfect on my S4 Active) and HTC Universal remote from the play store...
i do see the red beam flash ONCE only, but still doesnt turn on any device (tried a few diff TVs)


does anyone have an app or way to test this before i send it back for repairs?
9th April 2014, 08:50 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
None of the softwares remote profiles worked for me, I had to teach the app with the remote manually one button at the time to get it to work.
9th April 2014, 11:14 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag OKC, OK
Thanks Meter: 70
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Worked fine for me, first try. Sony TV and Sony surround with an AT&T U-verse cable box. I only had to use the remote for it to learn from for 1, which worked first try. (All via their TV app on the phone)

I'm sure you're aware, but keep in mind the IR is in the power button itself. Good luck
9th April 2014, 06:46 PM   |  #4  
Brava27's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 154
 
868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Google smart ir remote. Best remote out there.

Sent from my HTC One_M8
10th April 2014, 11:32 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
tried that too but didnt work.


managed to get it working now after resetting the phone to defaults.!

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
29th April 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Unhappy
I'm facing the same problem here ... seems to be hardware issue
29th April 2014, 10:29 PM   |  #7  
buddahj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Walton, KY
Thanks Meter: 97
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
No problems here.
25th June 2014, 08:06 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 20
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
So ..OP did u send your phone for repair??

or solved the problem by yourself

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes