Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Stupid question

OP joshua.justice

25th June 2014, 08:46 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 38
 
583 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
I'm wondering if there's any other differences than our S5's coming with Verizon apps and the bootloader being locked? I'm thinking all the radios/frequency bands are the exact same. Correct me if I'm wrong.
25th June 2014, 08:50 PM   |  #2  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Syracuse, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,302
 
1,362 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua.justice

I'm wondering if there's any other differences than our S5's coming with Verizon apps and the bootloader being locked? I'm thinking all the radios/frequency bands are the exact same. Correct me if I'm wrong.

The only stupid question is the one not asked. No, different carriers use different bands. I'm not sure who uses what but I know they are different.
25th June 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 38
 
583 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc

The only stupid question is the one not asked. No, different carriers use different bands. I'm not sure who uses what but I know they are different.

I know different carriers use different bands, but my question is are all bands present on all phones. So say they release a GPE Galaxy S5, if all the bands are there presumably I'd be able to use it on Verizon if all bands are there.
25th June 2014, 09:32 PM   |  #4  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Syracuse, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,302
 
1,362 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua.justice

I know different carriers use different bands, but my question is are all bands present on all phones. So say they release a GPE Galaxy S5, if all the bands are there presumably I'd be able to use it on Verizon if all bands are there.

The bands might be present but I know they omit things like CDMA antennas on the Virgin Mobile phones so you can't use those bands. They might work somewhat but wouldn't be fully functional for roaming and 4GLTE and such.
26th June 2014, 12:08 AM   |  #5  
PuffJr2's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua.justice

I know different carriers use different bands, but my question is are all bands present on all phones. So say they release a GPE Galaxy S5, if all the bands are there presumably I'd be able to use it on Verizon if all bands are there.

If i recall correctly. The GSM based versions do not have support for CDMA, while VZW variants have support for GSM/HSPA+/UMTS.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes