Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,045 Members 38,449 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] No data when connected to 3g

Tip us?
 
BABABANG
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 81
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default [Q] No data when connected to 3g

Hey guys,

I have a really weird problem that's been persistent throughout my ownership of this phone. If my phone ever goes into 3g mode, I can't access the internet on my phone or do anything that requires data. I live in a mostly 4g area so it isn't normally an issue, but when I travel elsewhere it becomes a huge headache, forcing me to go running in search of a wifi hotspot.

I have the newest radios, and even flashed the latest RUU to reset my phone to stock. The problem is still there.

Is this an issue for anyone else, or does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can fix it? Any help at all would be GREATLY appreciated. Thank you in advance.
 
AznInertia
Old
(Last edited by AznInertia; 24th June 2014 at 09:15 PM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 515
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BABABANG View Post
Hey guys,

I have a really weird problem that's been persistent throughout my ownership of this phone. If my phone ever goes into 3g mode, I can't access the internet on my phone or do anything that requires data. I live in a mostly 4g area so it isn't normally an issue, but when I travel elsewhere it becomes a huge headache, forcing me to go running in search of a wifi hotspot.

I have the newest radios, and even flashed the latest RUU to reset my phone to stock. The problem is still there.

Is this an issue for anyone else, or does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can fix it? Any help at all would be GREATLY appreciated. Thank you in advance.
I have the same issues regardless of what ROM I'm on. 3G is pretty iffy for me, sometimes I will get a data connection whereas some other times I don't get any data at all. I would hope that phone should say "no service" or something like that. Your best bet at this point is to try to do a factory reset to rule out any residuals from other ROMs (remember to make a backup before hand on a computer because it will wipe everything). Also take the time to update firmware

Stock Rom
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2485319

Firmware here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...21&postcount=2

Keep in mind sometimes the recovery can cause issues, I remember I was using specific versions of TWRP and most of the time it would work fine but other ROMs I had errors. I can't comment on Philz cause I never used it. Currently on TWRP 2.7.1.1 and so far no issues.

Lastly, the only thing I could think of is try getting a new SIM card. You want to go to the corporate stores and NOT the authorized Verizon retailers. You'll know because the authorized retailers will charge you for a new sim card whereas corporate stores do not.
The Following User Says Thank You to AznInertia For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BABABANG
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 81
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by AznInertia View Post
I have the same issues regardless of what ROM I'm on. 3G is pretty iffy for me, sometimes I will get a data connection whereas some other times I don't get any data at all. I would hope that phone should say "no service" or something like that. Your best bet at this point is to try to do a factory reset to rule out any residuals from other ROMs (remember to make a backup before hand on a computer because it will wipe everything). Also take the time to update firmware

Stock Rom
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2485319

Firmware here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...21&postcount=2

Keep in mind sometimes the recovery can cause issues, I remember I was using specific versions of TWRP and most of the time it would work fine but other ROMs I had errors. I can't comment on Philz cause I never used it. Currently on TWRP 2.7.1.1 and so far no issues.

Lastly, the only thing I could think of is try getting a new SIM card. You want to go to the corporate stores and NOT the authorized Verizon retailers. You'll know because the authorized retailers will charge you for a new sim card whereas corporate stores do not.
Wow, thank you for taking the time to write all of that. It means a lot! I tried everything else, but I think a new sim card might do the trick. I didn't even think about that.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes