Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,298 Members 42,788 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Restoring stock kernel

Tip us?
 
omicorn
Old
#1  
omicorn's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] Restoring stock kernel

Hi!

I have unlocked bootloader, rooted with SuperSu and flashed DoomKernel (for the Ram Management problem + recovery). Now I'd like to update to the 205 without having to find my own firmware ftf from the forums. Only way to do this is to restore stock kernel, relock the bootloader and then run the normal fota.

The DoomKernel was flashed using fastboot but I can only find the original kernel in ftf firmwares that can be flashed in flashmode (f. ex. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2706576). I tried to flash this kernel with flashtool but it failed. What is the correct procedure to restore stock kernel in flashmode using flashtool?
 
Oblox
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 304
Join Date: Oct 2012
If you download dipesh's latest ROMs they include a kernel.elf file within the zip. So flahs those and you should then have stock 205 kernel.
 
omicorn
Old
#3  
omicorn's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oblox View Post
If you download dipesh's latest ROMs they include a kernel.elf file within the zip. So flahs those and you should then have stock 205 kernel.
But I actually need the kernel for current firmware to be able to update to 205. Also I'd like to know for future if it's possible to successfully flash kernel only using flashtool.
 
Oblox
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 304
Join Date: Oct 2012
Yes you can flash kernel only in flashtool.
 
omicorn
Old
#5  
omicorn's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oblox View Post
Yes you can flash kernel only in flashtool.
What options should I set? Last time I tried to flash the kernel I linked in OP I remember getting error like loader.sin no such file or directory. Is this the fault of the ftf or my settings?
 
Bruno_Puzoni
Old
#6  
Bruno_Puzoni's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ribeirão Pires, Sao Paulo
Actually not, the kernel only in dipesh's rom is in .elf, not .ftf, so it's not recognized by flashtool.
Use fastboot with the command fastboot flash boot xxxxxxx.elf
Look at Williams kernel topic to see more details of how to flash it
 
omicorn
Old
#7  
omicorn's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruno_Puzoni View Post
Actually not, the kernel only in dipesh's rom is in .elf, not .ftf, so it's not recognized by flashtool.
Use fastboot with the command fastboot flash boot xxxxxxx.elf
Look at Williams kernel topic to see more details of how to flash it
I know that elf binaries should be flashed using fastboot but I haven't found the stock 201 kernel in that format. I'll check out the william's thread. But still I'd like to know how to flash ftf kernel successfully. Just for the future

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...