Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,206 Members 43,502 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Enable ART

Tip us?
 
eternasparta
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2011
Question Enable ART

I'm trying to enable and select ART as default Runtime
as specified here.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2550478

I''ve mounted Android Revolution HD 53.0, flashed the file at the end of the first post and i've that option visible in the "Developer Settings".

When I try to change from dalvik to ART, the phone ask me to reboot.
After the reboot the active runtime is Dalvik instead of ART that I've previosly selected.

Is it possible to use ART with customized ROMs?

I've activated Xposed Framework
 
Sindroid
Old
#2  
Sindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 638
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bergen
Art don't work with Sense. Some AOSP or GE roms runs Art.
- MAIN: LG G2 D802 32GB / Stock/Rooted
- Secondary: HTC One (M7) 32GB -S-OFF-Maximus Rom / ElementalX kernel.
RETIRED: - iPhone 2G / 4 / 4S - - - HTC: N1 / Sensation
 
Guich
Old
#3  
Guich's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3085
Posts: 4,272
Join Date: May 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by eternasparta View Post
I'm trying to enable and select ART as default Runtime
as specified here.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2550478

I''ve mounted Android Revolution HD 53.0, flashed the file at the end of the first post and i've that option visible in the "Developer Settings".

When I try to change from dalvik to ART, the phone ask me to reboot.
After the reboot the active runtime is Dalvik instead of ART that I've previosly selected.

Is it possible to use ART with customized ROMs?

I've activated Xposed Framework
ART can't be used on sense 5.5.
you've to wait the sense 6 for our device for have fully working art.
 
raghav kapur
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 417
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by eternasparta View Post
I'm trying to enable and select ART as default Runtime
as specified here.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2550478

I''ve mounted Android Revolution HD 53.0, flashed the file at the end of the first post and i've that option visible in the "Developer Settings".

When I try to change from dalvik to ART, the phone ask me to reboot.
After the reboot the active runtime is Dalvik instead of ART that I've previosly selected.

Is it possible to use ART with customized ROMs?

I've activated Xposed Framework
How did you manage to get the option to choose ART in ARHD 53??
Sense 5.5 doesnt have any support for ART. Neither do the early leaks of Sense 6. The final build of Sense 6 may support ART. But, for now, only GE roms support ART, not the Sense
 
eternasparta
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2011
Red face Thanx

Thank you all...

So I think I have to wait XD
 
BenPope
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 870
Posts: 3,473
Join Date: Dec 2007
Yeah, also it requires an odexed ROM.
 
eternasparta
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default custom roms

today I've flashed ARHD 62 (with sense 6 interface), in order to enable ART, but it's still not working.

After I've selected ART as runtime, when I reboot the phone, it will stay for ever in the bootscreen.

So isn't ART working for all custom roms (cause they are not official roms)?

I've noted that also other features are not working yet maybe for the same reason (however this is a little bit off topic XD )
 
Guich
Old
#8  
Guich's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3085
Posts: 4,272
Join Date: May 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by eternasparta View Post
today I've flashed ARHD 62 (with sense 6 interface), in order to enable ART, but it's still not working.

After I've selected ART as runtime, when I reboot the phone, it will stay for ever in the bootscreen.

So isn't ART working for all custom roms (cause they are not official roms)?

I've noted that also other features are not working yet maybe for the same reason (however this is a little bit off topic XD )
Art don't work because ARHD is deodexed, probably, and it requires a system odexed.
And for the gestures, they won't work forever, they will work only when some dev implements it on their custom kernel from the M8 source...
HTC said the our M7 won't have gestures with OTA.
 
eternasparta
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guich View Post
Art don't work because ARHD is deodexed, probably, and it requires a system odexed.
And for the gestures, they won't work forever, they will work only when some dev implements it on their custom kernel from the M8 source...
HTC said the our M7 won't have gestures with OTA.
great answer thank you
 
Issemann
Old
#10  
Issemann's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 104
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by eternasparta View Post
today I've flashed ARHD 62 (with sense 6 interface), in order to enable ART, but it's still not working.

After I've selected ART as runtime, when I reboot the phone, it will stay for ever in the bootscreen.
Unfortunately, I didn't read this post before I tried the same on my M7!! Now, I'm stuck on the bootscreen. How were able to switch back to Dalvik?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...