Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Widget Request] 4.4.2 100% Transparent Accuweather Widget *Solved*

OP gamerdad09

6th May 2014, 03:22 PM   |  #1  
gamerdad09's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
I like the Accuweather Widget a lot, but prefer a 100% transparent versions.

I'm on rooted 4.4.2 via Surge's method here.

I've tried downloading a transparent Accuweather Widget I found via Google, and I've tried pulling the one from Hyperdrive. I set permissions, and on reboot the widget crashes.

Is there a working transparent one for 4.4.2?

:Update:
Post 4 has a copy of the transparent widget for anyone looking for it.
Last edited by gamerdad09; 6th May 2014 at 06:19 PM.
6th May 2014, 04:13 PM   |  #2  
dtomlin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
195 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamerdad09

I like the Accuweather Widget a lot, but prefer a 100% transparent versions.

I'm on rooted 4.4.2 via Surge's method here.

I've tried downloading a transparent Accuweather Widget I found via Google, and I've tried pulling the one from Hyperdrive. I set permissions, and on reboot the widget crashes.

Is there a working transparent one for 4.4.2?

The one you have would probably work. I am using one from 4.3 with no problems. Don't forget to set permissions and to go into app manager under all apps and clear data and cache for the weather widget. Then it should work.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to dtomlin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2014, 05:54 PM   |  #3  
gamerdad09's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtomlin

The one you have would probably work. I am using one from 4.3 with no problems. Don't forget to set permissions and to go into app manager under all apps and clear data and cache for the weather widget. Then it should work.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Thank you. I had not cleared the cache or settings for the widget.

Using the one from Hyperdrive and it's working great.
6th May 2014, 06:17 PM   |  #4  
gamerdad09's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
I'm attaching the 100% Transparent Accuweather Widget from Hyperdrive in case anyone else is looking one.
Attached Files
File Type: zip AccuweatherPhone2013.zip - [Click for QR Code] (6.58 MB, 613 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to gamerdad09 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2014, 04:20 PM   |  #5  
ffchampmt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montana
Thanks Meter: 25
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamerdad09

I'm attaching the 100% Transparent Accuweather Widget from Hyperdrive in case anyone else is looking one.

Is this a flashable zip?

-EDIT-
No it isn't. It's just the apk.

Sent from Tapatalk on my Verizon NC5 Galaxy S4
Last edited by ffchampmt; 10th May 2014 at 05:32 PM.
15th May 2014, 03:51 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag Baton Rouge
Thanks Meter: 9
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamerdad09

I'm attaching the 100% Transparent Accuweather Widget from Hyperdrive in case anyone else is looking one.

Thanks for the zip. All the ROM's i install have had it built in, which is nice. Cheers
26th June 2014, 03:03 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag CHI TOWN
Thanks Meter: 7
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Install
SO how are you installing this? Do you simply extract it from the zip and install via the phone? I have the GS5 and I have tried that method and it says "X App not installed". I also tried to remove the existing apk in the system/apps folder and paste this one in there and that didn't work either. What I DID notice was the original in my system/apps folder was labeled "AccuweatherPhone2014.apk" and this is labeled "...2013.apk". I wonder if this version will not work on the GS5??

Any help is appreciated!!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes