5,814,797 Members 52,408 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unable to flash stock slot on SS

Tip us?
 
chiahead52
Old
#1  
chiahead52's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 350
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default Unable to flash stock slot on SS

Just like the title says. I am unable to flash anything to the stock slot on SS. I have tried ,any different times. I have tried wiping the slot and then flashing a fresh version of the ROM I use and also wiping and restoring a previous backup. Everytime when I go to boot the phone it gets stuck on a black screen during boot up. I end up having to use Matts tool and reinstall things back to stock including having to reroot. Anyways I would love to use my stock slot. Any help would be great. thank you
 
mikeoswego
Old
#2  
mikeoswego's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 74
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiahead52 View Post
Just like the title says. I am unable to flash anything to the stock slot on SS.
Did you use advanced wipe and select everything except Internal Storage and Micro SDCard?

The stock ROM system partition is only 636mb; is the ROM and GApps package you're using small enough to fit there?
 
chiahead52
Old
#3  
chiahead52's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 350
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeoswego View Post
Did you use advanced wipe and select everything except Internal Storage and Micro SDCard?

The stock ROM system partition is only 636mb; is the ROM and GApps package you're using small enough to fit there?
Yes I did use the advanced wipe and wiped all but internal/external SD cards. On the partition thing I'm not sure. Never looked at file size but I'm flashing LS with minimal gapps...others claim to have it on stock slot also.

So after I flash the stock slot on boot it gives me red moto logo. Then black screen. But its not 100% black. I can see some backlight is on cause I can see the splotches in the screen. If I press buttons like volume up the phone with vibrate a few times. Not sure what its doing but I end up having to reinstall system from scratch to fix it. I was hoping for an easy fix

Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk
 
frankonia
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 45
Join Date: Jun 2012
Once I also had problems to flash with SafeStrap on stock slot. Then I had the idea to flash the custom ROM first on slot 1 (or 2, how you want). Then making a complete backup of that partition, and after restore it on stock slot. - That worked fine for me.
 
chiahead52
Old
#5  
chiahead52's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 350
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankonia View Post
Once I also had problems to flash with SafeStrap on stock slot. Then I had the idea to flash the custom ROM first on slot 1 (or 2, how you want). Then making a complete backup of that partition, and after restore it on stock slot. - That worked fine for me.
ya right now i am running on slot 1 or 2 and if I make a full backup of that slot and try to restore it to stock the same thing happens. black screen
 
chiahead52
Old
#6  
chiahead52's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 350
Join Date: Jun 2011
anyone else have any ideas? Thanks for the replies
 
DumbleCore
Old
#7  
DumbleCore's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 919
Posts: 1,319
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hobb’s End

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiahead52 View Post
anyone else have any ideas? Thanks for the replies
Wich safestrap Version? Uninstall recovery from safestrap, then safestrap, then install newest version, maybe this helps, but don't reboot without safestrap!

Tapped from another Dimension
Motorola, my dear, I don't give a damn!

 
mikeoswego
Old
(Last edited by mikeoswego; 23rd June 2014 at 08:01 PM.) Reason: Typo in URL
#8  
mikeoswego's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 74
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiahead52 View Post
anyone else have any ideas? Thanks for the replies
I am (and was) using SafeStrap v3.73 when I flashed to the stock slot, I know some previous versions were supposed to be able to do this but I never tried it before. Maybe you're already using that latest version but if not, it wouldn't hurt to try.

Safestrap Recovery v3.7x [05/15/2014 V3.73 - TWRP 2.7] - xda-developers
 
chiahead52
Old
#9  
chiahead52's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 350
Join Date: Jun 2011
yes I am using the latest version of Safestrap. Any suggestions? I will try to redo it again this weekend when I have more time. Thank you

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more

Android M Mentions Spotted in Android Code Review

While we are still waiting for Android L to be officially released, the first mentions of … more