Post Reply

[Q] Only Fasboot menu after flashing rom

26th June 2014, 03:26 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Hi,
I have searched the forums but could not find an solution.

I have unlocked my m8 via htcdev.
installed SU and twrp recovery
flashed ViperOneM8 Rom using twrp recovery and now i am only getting the fastboot menu

*** TAMPERED ***
*** UNLOCKED ***
MB_UL PVT SHIP S-0N
HBOOT-3.16.0.0000
RADIO-1.16.2133156.UA14G

I have retried several times but no succes

Please advice
26th June 2014, 03:33 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 258
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvwoezik

Hi,
I have searched the forums but could not find an solution.

I have unlocked my m8 via htcdev.
installed SU and twrp recovery
flashed ViperOneM8 Rom using twrp recovery and now i am only getting the fastboot menu

*** TAMPERED ***
*** UNLOCKED ***
MB_UL PVT SHIP S-0N
HBOOT-3.16.0.0000
RADIO-1.16.2133156.UA14G

I have retried several times but no succes

Please advice

You have tried what several times?

Can you still get into recovery(TWRP)? If so, have you tried reflashing the ROM? Perhaps download a fresh copy incase it got corrupted and flash a new copy of Viper. If your device is still connected to PC and the PC can pick it up ... check with: fastboot devices ... it'll show serial number. Type in: fastboot erase cache then try again, booting into system or flashing copy of Viper.
26th June 2014, 03:46 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14

You have tried what several times?



Can you still get into recovery(TWRP)? If so, have you tried reflashing the ROM? Perhaps download a fresh copy incase it got corrupted and flash a new copy of Viper. If your device is still connected to PC and the PC can pick it up ... check with: fastboot devices ... it'll show serial number. Type in: fastboot erase cache then try again, booting into system or flashing copy of Viper.

Hi Bernd, thanks for your quick response.

I can still get into recovery and have tried reflashing several times. Don't know how to copy a fresh copy to my phone.
Fastboot devices does show my serial number but phone does not show in windows explorer (pc win 8.1).
Tried to mount phone in recovery but no succes
26th June 2014, 03:54 PM   |  #4  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,057
 
13,323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
When connected in TWRP, use the following command to push the ZIP to the phone

adb push <filename>.zip /sdcard (e.g. adb push rom.zip /sdcard)

Once complete, you can then flash the ROM as usual
The Following User Says Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th June 2014, 03:57 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 258
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
deleted
Last edited by BerndM14; 26th June 2014 at 04:29 PM. Reason: Sideloading apparently doesn't work.
The Following User Says Thank You to BerndM14 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th June 2014, 04:17 PM   |  #6  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,057
 
13,323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14

If you can still get into recovery then you can sideload the ROM through adb(While in recovery).

Just copy the ROM(Fresh download preferably just in case the old one was corrupt) into the adb folder.
Boot phone into recovery again, then select Advanced, make sure device is connected to PC.
Type: adb devices to see if PC command prompt picks up device(Again it'll show serial number). If it doesn't try typing: adb kill-server then adb usb and again adb devices to see if it picks up device.
Next tap on ADB Sideload in TWRP then type: adb sideload nameofzip.zip It'll then sideload and install it automatically, when it's finished you can restart device.

adb sideload doesn't work in TWRP (or at least not for me). adb push works fine, tho
The Following User Says Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th June 2014, 04:30 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 258
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

adb sideload doesn't work in TWRP (or at least not for me). adb push works fine, tho

Ok I deleted my comment there, even if it might work on a 50/50 it'll probably just be better to go with something that'll work 100% so the push solution will be better then.

The Following User Says Thank You to BerndM14 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th June 2014, 06:54 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
How to tell that adb push rom.zip /sdcard is ready?
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

When connected in TWRP, use the following command to push the ZIP to the phone

adb push <filename>.zip /sdcard (e.g. adb push rom.zip /sdcard)

Once complete, you can then flash the ROM as usual

C:\android-sdk-windows\sdk\platform-tools>adb devices
List of devices attached
SH45HWM05074 recover


How to tell that adb push rom.zip /sdcard is ready?
It keeps blinking
26th June 2014, 07:05 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 258
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvwoezik

C:\android-sdk-windows\sdk\platform-tools>adb devices
List of devices attached
SH45HWM05074 recover


How to tell that adb push rom.zip /sdcard is ready?
It keeps blinking

It's supposed to show the transfer rate xxx kb/s along with file size transferred and the time it took.

Does your command prompt show "active" again? Can you type commands into the prompt again?

Maybe try adb push romzipname.zip /sdcard/
Can also perhaps try adb ls /sdcard/ to confirm file was pushed
26th June 2014, 07:12 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Thumbs up Fixed!
It's working now, according to twrp SU wasn't properly installed twrp fixed that

The Following User Says Thank You to rvwoezik For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One (M8) Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank