FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Verizon XLte going online

483 posts
Thanks Meter: 36
 
By in_dmand, Senior Member on 25th June 2014, 06:15 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I'm surprised no one has posted this here... but I thought it was interesting!!

http://www.verizonwireless.com/news/...less-xlte.html

Our Lg G2's are compatible per this website as well...

I haven't seen any increase in my area yet (greenville, sc) even though it's listed on verizon's site as one of the initial cities. Anyone else noticed a difference in their dl speed?
 
 
25th June 2014, 06:57 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Greenville, SC
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
I just got off the phone w/ a verizon rep who said that there is nothing we have to do... a software update will be pushed to the phone. I am assuming this won't be the case for those of us who have a custom rooted device so it will be up to our devs!
25th June 2014, 09:11 PM |#3  
njstein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boise
Thanks Meter: 520
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by in_dmand

I just got off the phone w/ a verizon rep who said that there is nothing we have to do... a software update will be pushed to the phone. I am assuming this won't be the case for those of us who have a custom rooted device so it will be up to our devs!

And please correct me if I'm wrong, but if we have a custom recovery on stock then I'd have to either revert to full stock or wait for a dev?

Sent from my VS980 4G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
26th June 2014, 02:19 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Newark
Thanks Meter: 354
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by njstein

And please correct me if I'm wrong, but if we have a custom recovery on stock then I'd have to either revert to full stock or wait for a dev?

Sent from my VS980 4G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

More than likely just an updated modem...shouldn't take devs very long to make a rec flash version
The Following User Says Thank You to jamesd1085 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th June 2014, 03:16 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
Odd. The article was written well over a month ago and I'm just seeing/hearing about it now. So it's as if we're already benefiting from it, yet I haven't heard any dev mention anything about it or about including it in their rom. Maybe there is nothing for them to update, no?
26th June 2014, 05:15 AM |#6  
geoff5093's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Goffstown, NH
Thanks Meter: 584
 
More
This is old news, AWS has been active for months.
26th June 2014, 08:03 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag TR, NJ
Thanks Meter: 42
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoff5093

This is old news, AWS has been active for months.

Pretty much this. As long as you have at least the 12b modem that is all you need. Its been active in the NYC area for months now.
26th June 2014, 08:09 PM |#8  
geoff5093's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Goffstown, NH
Thanks Meter: 584
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by staticx57

Pretty much this. As long as you have at least the 12b modem that is all you need. Its been active in the NYC area for months now.

I believe it was the 24b modem that enabled AWS, but either way it was since this past winter.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes