Post Reply

[Q] Can't boot into recovery or download mode (but phone works)

OP sololhj

18th February 2014, 07:12 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 32
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Phone can boot normally, however it wonít boot into recovery or download mode.

My phone was working fine I was running a CM milestone rom I went to update the rom and all of the sudden I cannot boot into recovery.

When I try to boot into recovery using the appropriate button combination I get the recovery splash screen then the phone powers down.
If I try to boot into download mode I get to the screen that asks if I want to continue, I hit yes then the phone powers down.

Initially I assumed that maybe I had somehow corrupted the recovery so I tried to reinstall the recovery using GooManager, then TWRP Manager and finally manually using Terminal emulator. None of that worked.

Since I canít boot into download mode Iím not sure what I should try next.


Any ideas?
18th February 2014, 07:42 PM   |  #2  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,979
 
5,516 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I'm thinking something may be up with your power button. Does it act sensitive while using the phone? Tapping it lightly cause the power menu to popup? Things like that? What happens if you use Terminal Emulator and type either:

su
reboot recovery

or for download mode:

su
reboot download

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4
18th February 2014, 07:59 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 32
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS

I'm thinking something may be up with your power button. Does it act sensitive while using the phone? Tapping it lightly cause the power menu to popup? Things like that? What happens if you use Terminal Emulator and type either:

su
reboot recovery

or for download mode:

su
reboot download

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4

The power button has become extremely sensitive.

When I try to use Terminal emulator as you instructed the phone boots into recovery for about a second then it shuts off.
18th February 2014, 09:53 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 532
 
915 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Donate to Me
More
If the s4 has this same power button issue by the time I go to buy the s5 I might look into a different phone. We shouldn't have to worry about the power button failing at any point in the phones life. I miss my power button so much it makes me wish I bought extra insurance.
19th February 2014, 12:53 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
What about using an app that offers power button options (power off, reboot, boot into recovery, etc) ?

Sent from my SM-T210 using Tapatalk
19th February 2014, 01:01 AM   |  #6  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 768
 
1,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Kurisu

What about using an app that offers power button options (power off, reboot, boot into recovery, etc) ?

Sent from my SM-T210 using Tapatalk

It isn't the same, power button is needed for many things that you don't think about. I'd hate my phone without a functioning power button, I use it more than my volume and home button combined. You could always map the button function to the home button, but then you lose your home button function.

Might be worth it to get it fixed. I'd get mine fixed because this phone is running amazingly for me and development is continuing to be poured into it. I think it's worth it if you're planning to keep it for a while.

A lot of my friends iphones are also having major issues with their power buttons not working. It's just wear and tear, it's going to eventually happen to a lot of people.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
19th February 2014, 06:50 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 32
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS

I'm thinking something may be up with your power button. Does it act sensitive while using the phone? Tapping it lightly cause the power menu to popup? Things like that? What happens if you use Terminal Emulator and type either:

su
reboot recovery

or for download mode:

su
reboot download

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4

Thanks for the insight SlimSnoopOS

I am now fairly certain that my power button has been causing all my issues. It would have never occurred to me that this was a hardware issue. If i had a way to return my phone to stock I would send it in for a warranty repair.

I am very disappointed with Samsung. This is my 3rd GS3(previous 2 returned under warranty). I''ve had 3 different android phones and this one is by far the most expensive and yet it is also the most shoddy.

I am seriously considering looking for a new manufacturer for my next phone. Iphone 6 maybe?
19th February 2014, 01:49 PM   |  #8  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,979
 
5,516 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sololhj

Thanks for the insight SlimSnoopOS

I am now fairly certain that my power button has been causing all my issues. It would have never occurred to me that this was a hardware issue. If i had a way to return my phone to stock I would send it in for a warranty repair.

I am very disappointed with Samsung. This is my 3rd GS3(previous 2 returned under warranty). I''ve had 3 different android phones and this one is by far the most expensive and yet it is also the most shoddy.

I am seriously considering looking for a new manufacturer for my next phone. Iphone 6 maybe?

I would definitely get the power button replaced by a third party company such as MobileTechVideos. You could also try doing this. It's only a suggestion but it did work for me when my power button started acting funny one weekend. Been fine two months later.

Uhh, I suggest a new OEM but its way too early to tell what will be the phone to get. MWC is coming up but I'm a summer buyer so I'd be waiting much later from now.
27th June 2014, 01:39 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Recovery issues
I cannot get into recovery either but I can get into downloads which does absolutely nothing. While my phone is connected to my computer, it is being read by the computer. In order for me to get out of downloads I must hold down the power button and the volume down key. In attempting to get into recovery, I have tried holding down the volume up, home button, and power button. The 1st time I did this, when my phone vibrated I released the power button while holding down volume up and home button which successfully took me to recovery. Since then everything goes to download. No matter what configuration that I hold the 3 buttons the phone goes straight to download. I installed quick boot but even that takes me straight to download after pressing recovery.
My S4 is running 4.4.4. I am on Verizon.
27th June 2014, 05:23 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I couldn't get mine in recovery, but I ran Kies, and it did it for me. Worth a try.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gs3, odin, recovery
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank