Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,934 Members 37,609 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q][M919N] Odin giving "Fail! (Auth)" error with two different errors on phone side?

Tip us?
 
Supakitsune
Old
#1  
Supakitsune's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bronx, NY
Default [Q][M919N] Odin giving "Fail! (Auth)" error with two different errors on phone side?

So, I have a MetroPCS S4 on my hands. It was on Metro's 4.3 release prior to rooting and installing custom recovery, and I can't seem to get it back to stock with Odin by any means. When I try flashing the MF2 TAR, the phone says "SW REV CHECK FAIL (fused 4, binary 1)". I tried flashing an NB4 TAR, and I got "SECURE CHECK FAIL : aboot" instead. Either way, I get "Fail! (Auth)" and the process ends.
The main reason I'm trying to flash any TAR in general is because it's a 32GB phone but the ROMs I've installed say that there is only about 9GB of internal storage available, which seems like the type of space that a 16GB phone might have. So if there's any way to fix the internal storage space, that'd be great too. Please help me out!
 
The Sickness
Old
#2  
The Sickness's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 9,326
Posts: 4,427
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Somewhere in Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supakitsune View Post
So, I have a MetroPCS S4 on my hands. It was on Metro's 4.3 release prior to rooting and installing custom recovery, and I can't seem to get it back to stock with Odin by any means. When I try flashing the MF2 TAR, the phone says "SW REV CHECK FAIL (fused 4, binary 1)". I tried flashing an NB4 TAR, and I got "SECURE CHECK FAIL : aboot" instead. Either way, I get "Fail! (Auth)" and the process ends.
The main reason I'm trying to flash any TAR in general is because it's a 32GB phone but the ROMs I've installed say that there is only about 9GB of internal storage available, which seems like the type of space that a 16GB phone might have. So if there's any way to fix the internal storage space, that'd be great too. Please help me out!
You need to download the tar file again. Sounds like a bad download.
Phone side? You need to put the tar file in the PDA slot
 
serio22
Old
#3  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 694
Posts: 2,160
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston
You need at least 4.3 firmware to flash, sounds like you're trying to flash 4.2.2.. As a future note, do not try to flash other device's firmware, it could cause a brick
 
Supakitsune
Old
#4  
Supakitsune's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bronx, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22 View Post
You need at least 4.3 firmware to flash, sounds like you're trying to flash 4.2.2.. As a future note, do not try to flash other device's firmware, it could cause a brick
That's... embarrassing. I guess I just assumed that since it was the only Odin TAR available on that forum, it must have been the 4.3 TAR. Oof. ;;

I only tried flashing the T-Mobile 4.4.2 TAR because I was assured that the Tmo and Metro S4 were, for almost all intents and purposes, the same phone. That said, I got it back on its feet, so to speak. I flashed the NB4 modem and a rooted stock NB4 ROM, and everything's all peachy. Thanks for the proverbial bop to the side of the head.
 
serio22
Old
#5  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 694
Posts: 2,160
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supakitsune View Post
That's... embarrassing. I guess I just assumed that since it was the only Odin TAR available on that forum, it must have been the 4.3 TAR. Oof. ;;

I only tried flashing the T-Mobile 4.4.2 TAR because I was assured that the Tmo and Metro S4 were, for almost all intents and purposes, the same phone. That said, I got it back on its feet, so to speak. I flashed the NB4 modem and a rooted stock NB4 ROM, and everything's all peachy. Thanks for the proverbial bop to the side of the head.
Good! And while yes they are practically the same device, it's not good practice to just flash similar devices firmware.
 
Kriptik210
Old
#6  
Kriptik210's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 398
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Crystal River
I have Metro and flash everything that T-Mobile Devs put out and I have no issues.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
.............Sent from an A.I. frequency.............
 
serio22
Old
#7  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 694
Posts: 2,160
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriptik210 View Post
I have Metro and flash everything that T-Mobile Devs put out and I have no issues.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Roms are fine, we are talking about firmware
 
Kriptik210
Old
#8  
Kriptik210's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 398
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Crystal River
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22 View Post
Roms are fine, we are talking about firmware
Oh ok. Aside from that, the NB4 modem works on Metro

Sent from my SGH-M919 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
.............Sent from an A.I. frequency.............

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes