Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,261 Members 52,066 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] (Sprint) HTC One Max to work with T-Mobile SIM issue

Tip us?
 
SkeeBall76
Old
(Last edited by SkeeBall76; 16th June 2014 at 03:04 PM.) Reason: Updated info
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Prompt [Q] (Sprint) HTC One Max to work with T-Mobile SIM issue

Good morning, and thank you for reading.

I need some advice, and I'll put it in as easy of a format as I can.
This is the thread I referenced, before posting here. It appears to be outdated: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2608910

Goal: To get this dang Sprint HTC One Max to use my current T-Mobile SIM card, in order to get a data signal, (text, etc.) as close to (what would be) stock as possible. I keep seeing that this has been possible, in the past, yet the info available is outdated.

Facts and specs:
1. This Max uses a SIM card.
2. Bootloader is unlocked and working 100%, thanks to HTCDev.com.
3. TAMPERED tag is visible. The thread, giving instructions on how to remove this, is outdated. (I tried it 3 times, and it didn't work) http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2477792
4. Recovery is TWRP and working 100% (v2.7.1.0)
5. OS is ViperMAX 2.0.0.
6. Android Version 4.4.2.
7. S-Off using Firewater. Rumrunner will not work with 4.4.2.
8. Rooted.
9. Venom Superuser installed.
10. ADB and fastboot ready.
11. HTC drivers installed.
12. SDK Manager installed, v22.6.4
13. Phone is in complete working order, minus Fingerprint scanner function. (It will let me swipe my finger, but fails after 4 tries, every time) Rumor has it that I'll have to relock my bootloader, in order to regain Fingerprint function. I'll do that, asap, as soon as I'm informed that I don't need my bootloader unlocked anymore.

After 20 hours of research and trial & error, I know the basics of how to use the items, listed above.

A big thanks, in advance, for contributing to the resolution!

EDIT: I was successful in getting rid of the TAMPERED tag, via http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2540024
 
SkeeBall76
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2014
After 22.5 hours, any kind of help would be appreciated, even a link to get me on the right track please.
 
snyper2k2
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 135
Join Date: Aug 2008
I am in the exact same boat as you. I did everything, im S-offed, unlocked and with custom recovery, Did everything right, even the sim unlock, but it keeps saying invalid sim card when i insert my tmobile sim.

---------- Post added at 03:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:27 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkeeBall76 View Post
Good morning, and thank you for reading.

I need some advice, and I'll put it in as easy of a format as I can.
This is the thread I referenced, before posting here. It appears to be outdated: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2608910

Goal: To get this dang Sprint HTC One Max to use my current T-Mobile SIM card, in order to get a data signal, (text, etc.) as close to (what would be) stock as possible. I keep seeing that this has been possible, in the past, yet the info available is outdated.

Facts and specs:
1. This Max uses a SIM card.
2. Bootloader is unlocked and working 100%, thanks to HTCDev.com.
3. TAMPERED tag is visible. The thread, giving instructions on how to remove this, is outdated. (I tried it 3 times, and it didn't work) http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2477792
4. Recovery is TWRP and working 100% (v2.7.1.0)
5. OS is ViperMAX 2.0.0.
6. Android Version 4.4.2.
7. S-Off using Firewater. Rumrunner will not work with 4.4.2.
8. Rooted.
9. Venom Superuser installed.
10. ADB and fastboot ready.
11. HTC drivers installed.
12. SDK Manager installed, v22.6.4
13. Phone is in complete working order, minus Fingerprint scanner function. (It will let me swipe my finger, but fails after 4 tries, every time) Rumor has it that I'll have to relock my bootloader, in order to regain Fingerprint function. I'll do that, asap, as soon as I'm informed that I don't need my bootloader unlocked anymore.

After 20 hours of research and trial & error, I know the basics of how to use the items, listed above.

A big thanks, in advance, for contributing to the resolution!

EDIT: I was successful in getting rid of the TAMPERED tag, via http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2540024
Have you tried the sim unlock method? Which includes replacing a file.
 
SkeeBall76
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by snyper2k2 View Post
I am in the exact same boat as you. I did everything, im S-offed, unlocked and with custom recovery, Did everything right, even the sim unlock, but it keeps saying invalid sim card when i insert my tmobile sim.

---------- Post added at 03:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:27 PM ----------



Have you tried the sim unlock method? Which includes replacing a file.
Yes, but version 4.4.2 will not allow the app to work properly. There is a window, in the app, that is supposed to pop up.
4.4.2 keeps this window from opening.
I am waiting for their updated program.
 
ceo4eva
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 651
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ellicott City
I'm stuck along with you guys. I think I've done the unlock I can change to wcdma preferred but I still have emergency call status.

I don't know what else to do.

I used the method of replacing the file and getting the pop-up to come on just once but since then I have not been able to get s T-Mobile signal

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using XDA Free mobile app
(Primary) HTC One MAX , (Backup) HTC HD2 , Best 1-2 punch
 
snyper2k2
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 135
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceo4eva View Post
I'm stuck along with you guys. I think I've done the unlock I can change to wcdma preferred but I still have emergency call status.

I don't know what else to do.

I used the method of replacing the file and getting the pop-up to come on just once but since then I have not been able to get s T-Mobile signal

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using XDA Free mobile app
Im seeing a trend here, that the guys with Hboot 2.49 are the ones having trouble. I myself have hboot 2.49 and cant get it to unlock. Can you guys confirm you have 2.49 as well?
 
ceo4eva
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 651
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ellicott City
I'm on 2.46

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using XDA Free mobile app
(Primary) HTC One MAX , (Backup) HTC HD2 , Best 1-2 punch
 
ceo4eva
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 651
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ellicott City
Simple fix for Sprint users. Sell your phone and buy a Verizon version just like I did. It's factory unlocked!

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using XDA Free mobile app
(Primary) HTC One MAX , (Backup) HTC HD2 , Best 1-2 punch
 
travlincablguy
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 80
Join Date: Feb 2010
What worked for me was to down grade the radio. The newest 3.02 radio will not allow the SIM unlock.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more