How to Set a Video as Your Boot Animation

If you wish to make your phone truly unique, you may want to consider adding a nice boot animation. … more

TWRP for Nexus 6 and 9 Available, Unofficial CM12 Alpha for HTC Explorer! – XDA TV

Team Win Recovery Project for the Nexus 6 and Nexus … more

Jolla Tablet Announced: The Second Sailfish OS Device

A little over a year ago, Jolla released its first smartphone with the brand new Jolla … more

Android One Devices Get Unofficial CM12 Port

Android One was initially announced right before Android Lollipop. By releasing these cheap, yet … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Wifi is connected but no traffic, WTF?

OP ssnapier

27th June 2014, 03:51 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Hagerstown, MD
Thanks Meter: 4
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
I thought at first my router was having issues, but that is not the case. I have confirmed zero router issues by using 3 laptops and 2 other phones (Samsung units) to connect to anything I want.

If I connect using my M8 (Verizon), it connects with no issue but I have no real internet connection. The signal strength is -40 so that is not the issue.

I have tried multiple restarts, multiple networks, and multiple SSID's. I even tried forcing it to 2.4 or 5 Ghz and nothing at all seems to work.

Is this a known issue? I am coming from a long line of Samsung stuff so I am not up to speed on the quirks with HTC stuff. Your assistance is appreciated!
Last edited by ssnapier; 27th June 2014 at 03:55 AM.
27th June 2014, 04:54 AM   |  #2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 33
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssnapier

I thought at first my router was having issues, but that is not the case. I have confirmed zero router issues by using 3 laptops and 2 other phones (Samsung units) to connect to anything I want.

If I connect using my M8 (Verizon), it connects with no issue but I have no real internet connection. The signal strength is -40 so that is not the issue.

I have tried multiple restarts, multiple networks, and multiple SSID's. I even tried forcing it to 2.4 or 5 Ghz and nothing at all seems to work.

Is this a known issue? I am coming from a long line of Samsung stuff so I am not up to speed on the quirks with HTC stuff. Your assistance is appreciated!

Stock, custom ROM, etc?
27th June 2014, 01:00 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Hagerstown, MD
Thanks Meter: 4
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
This is a stock ROM with weaksauce root and nothing else.
27th June 2014, 01:09 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Hagerstown, MD
Thanks Meter: 4
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Ok, so I just connected to the wifi at my office and it appears to be working just fine, but it took about 15 minutes form my phone to recognize that the network even existed.
28th June 2014, 01:48 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Hagerstown, MD
Thanks Meter: 4
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
I am pretty sure this phone is just a piece of crap. About 2 hours after my last post it started doing the same thing (at work). I just got home and did a 100% fresh reset of both my router and my phone to eliminate any possible configuration issues and it shows that it is connected on the phone, but the router is not seeing that it is connected... how the hell does that work?
28th June 2014, 01:58 AM   |  #6  
grneyez's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 70
 
476 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssnapier

I am pretty sure this phone is just a piece of crap. About 2 hours after my last post it started doing the same thing (at work). I just got home and did a 100% fresh reset of both my router and my phone to eliminate any possible configuration issues and it shows that it is connected on the phone, but the router is not seeing that it is connected... how the hell does that work?


Since you've determined its a piece of crap, sell it and get yourself a iPhone. Why bother trying to get it to work.
28th June 2014, 09:38 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
When you connect to your router what details does it give in the phone WiFi settings for that connection?
Also which router do you use?
Last edited by ashyx; 28th June 2014 at 09:40 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes