Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Firmware upgrade after towelroot done

OP FlatOutRU

28th June 2014, 12:11 PM   |  #1  
FlatOutRU's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 8
 
334 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Knox shows 0x0 In future when I have to update firmware through official OTA update I won't be able to do that since it writes that system is modified. Any thoughts?
28th June 2014, 03:37 PM   |  #2  
Masum56k's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Mine shows knox 0x1.
Now, when i try to check software update, it gives me error report.
But your's one should be fine.

Sent from my SM-G900H using Tapatalk
28th June 2014, 04:55 PM   |  #3  
FlatOutRU's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 8
 
334 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masum56k

Mine shows knox 0x1.
Now, when i try to check software update, it gives me error report.
But your's one should be fine.

Sent from my SM-G900H using Tapatalk

I`ve made this thread because software update gives me error report(i have rooted with towelroot) but knox still 0x0. How to remove root if i need it without reflashing?
28th June 2014, 04:56 PM   |  #4  
FlatOutRU's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 8
 
334 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Btw i have SM-900F version
28th June 2014, 04:59 PM   |  #5  
FlatOutRU's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 8
 
334 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Also if i flash offical firmware through odin, will it trigger knox?
28th June 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #6  
verny94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kladno
Thanks Meter: 73
 
388 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masum56k

Mine shows knox 0x1.
Now, when i try to check software update, it gives me error report.
Sent from my SM-G900H using Tapatalk

Upgrade FW with Knox 0x1 is possible. Try hard reset Or flash via Odin.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlatOutRU

Also if i flash offical firmware through odin, will it trigger knox?

It doesn´t trip Knox. But I cannot promise you (Knox is very strange thing )
28th June 2014, 11:59 PM   |  #7  
mefistos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sligo
Thanks Meter: 58
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
just use unroot option in superSU

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes