Post Reply

URGENT. I messed up my phone!! HELP

27th June 2014, 05:29 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 49
 
367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Hello,
I was flashing between roms and kernals, later I realised my efs gone bad with null.
I didnt make a backup before hand, now I am stuck.

Anyone please use any of the following links from below and send me the backup, will really appreciate it.

Thank you!
G900T


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2705524
or
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2737515


Its fixed. Thanks everyone.
KIES did the work
Last edited by abrarabbu; 27th June 2014 at 09:05 PM. Reason: Solved..!!!
27th June 2014, 05:45 PM   |  #2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 889
 
3,042 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abrarabbu

Hello,
I was flashing between roms and kernals, later I realised my efs gone bad with null.
I didnt make a backup before hand, now I am stuck.

Anyone please use any of the following links from below and send me the backup, will really appreciate it.

Thank you!
G900T

That's not good. I'm not sure you can do anything at this point if the efs partition is messed up. Even if I upload a backup, it'll be of my IMEI and serial, not yours.
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2014, 05:49 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 49
 
367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

That's not good. I'm not sure you can do anything at this point if the efs partition is messed up. Even if I upload a backup, it'll be of my IMEI and serial, not yours.

Can you please send me.
I need my phone working right now.
I will make sure I get jtag done on it as soon as I get back to Toronto.
I am back home, and this thing is driving me crazy.
And no worry I am in India now.
27th June 2014, 06:35 PM   |  #4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 889
 
3,042 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abrarabbu

Can you please send me.
I need my phone working right now.
I will make sure I get jtag done on it as soon as I get back to Toronto.
I am back home, and this thing is driving me crazy.
And no worry I am in India now.

Even if I send you my EFS partition, it won't fix your problem. It will have my IMEI and serial number. I'm pretty sure changing your IMEI is illegal anyway.
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2014, 07:50 PM   |  #5  
diablo009's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta GA
Thanks Meter: 1,343
 
5,537 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Take to some repair shops that write to NAND with your original IMEI. No offense, but no person in the right sense of mind would give you their EFS or IMEI. Be warned... it is ILLEGAL to change IMEIs.
The Following User Says Thank You to diablo009 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2014, 08:24 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

I'm pretty sure changing your IMEI is illegal anyway.

http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/z?c112:S.3186.IS:

Illegal in the states, no idea about India but we have to deal with the laws we deal with.
The Following User Says Thank You to watchout5 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2014, 08:26 PM   |  #7  
diablo009's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta GA
Thanks Meter: 1,343
 
5,537 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by watchout5

http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/z?c112:S.3186.IS:

Illegal in the states, no idea about India but we have to deal with the laws we deal with.

Its been made illegal in India some time back... The issue there started with cheap Chinese phones flooding market with duplicate IMEIs making it hard to track anti social elements.

So it IS illegal in India too.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to diablo009 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2014, 09:04 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 49
 
367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablo009

Its been made illegal in India some time back... The issue there started with cheap Chinese phones flooding market with duplicate IMEIs making it hard to track anti social elements.

So it IS illegal in India too.

Thak you everyone for help.

I flashed it through kies and to my surprise it is fixed..

Thanks again
28th June 2014, 08:27 PM   |  #9  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 457
 
1,632 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablo009

Take to some repair shops that write to NAND with your original IMEI. No offense, but no person in the right sense of mind would give you their EFS or IMEI. Be warned... it is ILLEGAL to change IMEIs.


Good advice, but the last part is wrong. It may be illegal to change an IMEI.. that varies depending on where you are located and in some cases why you are changing it. It is not illegal in many jurisdictions and in fact factory authorized service dealers change IMEIs all the time. AFAIK it is not illegal anywhere to restore your original IMEI, which is what you should be striving to do anyway.

However as you might appreciate, threads about IMEI modification are emphatically discouraged and not infrequently locked on XDA due to abuse. Or the potential for the same. It's not a subject that we should be discussing at length other than to briefly suggest that an OP restore a backup if possible. Or seek a reputable repair shop otherwise.

Anyway, glad that the OP managed to resurrect his phone (even with the annoying thread title). Sounds like he had a backup (in Kies) that he didn't realize. And therein is the most important message - everyone should have a full backup of their phone, including the EFS.

.
Last edited by fffft; 28th June 2014 at 08:30 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank