ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Android Studio Reaches Release Candidate Status

Android app developers have a few options when comes to Android IDEs. One of the most … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Dual SIM phone with Single SIM firmware?

OP Nadavs10

16th June 2014, 04:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Israel
Thanks Meter: 11
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
I ordered a regular Moto G 16GB from the internet and it arrived today. In the seller's site there was no model declaration.

When I received the device the box mentioned XT1033 with two IMEIs and really there were two SIM slots. I didn't order the dual sim version... But I didn't care. But, the software itself doesn't look like it knows there a second slot. And after checking, CPU-Z says I have the model "XT1032 (falcon_retgb)" and the Play Store says my device is XT1032.

Not that I care so much, but how exactly?? I'm new to this but I don't want to use a device that's been rooted and unlocked before I received it.
Last edited by Nadavs10; 17th June 2014 at 04:08 PM. Reason: added "Q"
16th June 2014, 05:33 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
You can check if it is unlocked by going into bootloader. (vol down+power button while phone is off)
If it is unlocked then relocked, it will show status code 2 ( not sure, can't check now, but if it is never unlocked, it will be 0)
It seems like the seller flashed single sim rom on it, as it has 2 slots but it does not show in the software.

Sent from my XT1033 using Tapatalk
16th June 2014, 06:31 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Israel
Thanks Meter: 11
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tansly

You can check if it is unlocked by going into bootloader. (vol down+power button while phone is off)
If it is unlocked then relocked, it will show status code 2 ( not sure, can't check now, but if it is never unlocked, it will be 0)
It seems like the seller flashed single sim rom on it, as it has 2 slots but it does not show in the software.

Sent from my XT1033 using Tapatalk

Thanks for the answer. The status code is 0, which according to what you said means it was never unlocked. So how come the firmware thinks I have XT1032? Do you or someone has any explanation? Or a link or something?
16th June 2014, 06:42 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Interesting... I have no idea, maybe I'm wrong about something. I hope someone with more knowledge can answer you
17th June 2014, 05:56 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Israel
Thanks Meter: 11
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tansly

Interesting... I have no idea, maybe I'm wrong about something. I hope someone with more knowledge can answer you

So after searching some more for info I can clarify my question a bit:

I received the Moto G from an authorized retailer (sealed with a label). It is XT1033 (I think India/Asia version) with a 4.4.2 Britain XT1032 stock ROM, and although it sounds like the retailer flashed it like in this guide, the bootloader says "Device is LOCKED. Status code: 0". So... How is this possible? Do you think someone really flashed it or am I missing something? And should I try to revert it back to the dual SIM ROM?
17th June 2014, 06:53 PM   |  #6  
NextGenGTR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
397 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nadavs10

So after searching some more for info I can clarify my question a bit:

I received the Moto G from an authorized retailer (sealed with a label). It is XT1033 (I think India/Asia version) with a 4.4.2 Britain XT1032 stock ROM, and although it sounds like the retailer flashed it like in this guide, the bootloader says "Device is LOCKED. Status code: 0". So... How is this possible? Do you think someone really flashed it or am I missing something? And should I try to revert it back to the dual SIM ROM?

Contact the company first and let them know and then let them tell you what to do'n't so you do risk loosing your warranty.
18th June 2014, 09:39 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Well, you could just flash the Asian firmware (dualsim) even with the bootloader locked. And no, It won't void your warranty as they are signed images and basically no way for them to know even if they cared.
28th June 2014, 09:31 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Israel
Thanks Meter: 11
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
After getting help from you and from other fellows from the Motorola forum, I came to two conclusions:
  1. An official Motorola firmware can be installed on the device with a locked bootloader (while only custom firmware cannot be installed). This means anyone can flash the XT1032 firmware to an XT1033 without any problem, and keep the bootloader at status "0".
  2. After checking the firmware installation date (see here), I can say with 99% confidence that the firmware was flashed before the device left the factory. The installation/flashing date is earlier than the date written on the box label. That means it is probably Motorola's fault.

Now I don't want to blame Motorola here, first because I'm not totally sure that this is exactly what happened and second because as far as it looks to me, it is a so minor fault that is easily reversible. In fact, I get updates faster than most dual-SIM users (the device gets XT1032 updates) but if in the future I'll need the dual function - I can switch.

Please correct me if anything is wrong.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes