FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

[Q] HELP! Deleted internal storage and adb doesn't work

12 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By zabtos, Junior Member on 27th June 2014, 02:25 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
28th June 2014, 05:25 PM |#21  
Sieze's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag somewhere in the middle of california
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zabtos

hey so I got another problem. When I try to install a ruu it fails because htc_fastboot.exe has stopped working. On my other pc it just freezes at 5% .

I downloaded a new android sdk with adb and fastboot but the same error occured.

what RUU and what hboot is your phone on
 
 
28th June 2014, 05:39 PM |#22  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sieze

what RUU and what hboot is your phone on

hboot: 1.57
RUU: http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/ruu_m7_u...igned_2-1-exe/

The RUU is the same but I didn't download it from there, just can't find the original link

The weird thing is I installed this ruu one day ago, before I messed up my phone, and everything went fine.

Now I first installed the revolution hd rom to see if the otg method is working, then I tried to run the ruu and I got this error.

EDIT: Ok, I flashed a stock rom from revolution hd via recovery, now I can update my phone. However would be still interesting to know why the ruu isn't working properly

One last question just to be sure: Now I have a stock htc one rom and a stock htc one recovery, but the it's rooted. Will I receive updates or do I need to unroot it? I don't care if the root is lost after the update.
Last edited by zabtos; 28th June 2014 at 06:41 PM.
28th June 2014, 07:37 PM |#23  
Sieze's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag somewhere in the middle of california
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
root shouldnt effect OTA updates. only if you change recovery. withotu stock recovery you cannot OTA update. and as for wy the RUU wouldnt work i suspect it has something to do with you having to new a hboot. may be wrong though.

and you may lose root after OTA but only if android version changes.
The Following User Says Thank You to Sieze For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th June 2014, 09:16 PM |#24  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sieze

root shouldnt effect OTA updates. only if you change recovery. withotu stock recovery you cannot OTA update. and as for wy the RUU wouldnt work i suspect it has something to do with you having to new a hboot. may be wrong though.

and you may lose root after OTA but only if android version changes.

Ok then, if I can update my htc it's alright, the root doesn't matter
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes