Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more
Post Reply

Trouble with TWRP 2.7.10

OP leon sprouse

25th June 2014, 02:06 PM   |  #1  
leon sprouse's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag saint cloud , Florida
Thanks Meter: 86
 
666 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
I have a Galaxy S5 from T-Mobile and was using TWRP recovery. I had made a back-up of everything and had to restore using it. After the restore Every app I tried to open had this error "unfortunately (app name) has stopped. This was with every app!!! Is there a setting I am missing? Could it have to do with other back-ups , i.e. Dropbox , Google or Samsung. Do these have to be turned off?
Please help.
26th June 2014, 05:37 AM   |  #2  
em0ney14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 174
 
401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by leon sprouse

I have a Galaxy S5 from T-Mobile and was using TWRP recovery. I had made a back-up of everything and had to restore using it. After the restore Every app I tried to open had this error "unfortunately (app name) has stopped. This was with every app!!! Is there a setting I am missing? Could it have to do with other back-ups , i.e. Dropbox , Google or Samsung. Do these have to be turned off?
Please help.

Hey Leon, sorry for your problem.

When you made a back up, it was with twrp or titanium backup, or something else?

I had an issue using the backup feature of any custom recovery, so I stick to using titanium backup and having it back everything up to my sd card so if I flash anything and the internal memory is wiped, I still have my data.

Hope you get it figured out Leon.
26th June 2014, 12:15 PM   |  #3  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 550
 
1,887 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
TWRP 2.7.0.0 makes reliable backups for the S5. There was an update to 2.7.1.0 a few weeks ago (the version number in your thread title is incorrect). The changelog for the current version doesn't appear to suggest any major changes and I don't see any reason to rush into an upgrade. Newer isn't necessarily better and I will wait a while before updating in case any unexpected bugs arise.

Having said that, it's unlikely that there is a problem with TWRP. The TWRP team does great work and bugs are rare. You should read the TWRP threads to see if anyone else is having problems. The existing threads would also be a more effective place to seek assistance. Bugs should be posted to the TWRP github issues log so that they can address them.

.
28th June 2014, 10:04 AM   |  #4  
ceo.mtcl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. Paul, MN
Thanks Meter: 410
 
2,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
I have there exact same problem. I was too lazy to report that and then I saw your that. After restoring the backup, none of the apps open. No solution yet.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
28th June 2014, 10:22 AM   |  #5  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 550
 
1,887 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceo.mtcl

No solution yet.

An easy workaround and a way to identify some alternate causes of your difficulties would be to use version 2.7.0.0 for now since it has been widely reported as reliable.
28th June 2014, 03:50 PM   |  #6  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,412
 
6,852 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Go into recovery and fix permissions and wipe all caches

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to elesbb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th June 2014, 02:20 AM   |  #7  
ceo.mtcl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. Paul, MN
Thanks Meter: 410
 
2,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fffft

An easy workaround and a way to identify some alternate causes of your difficulties would be to use version 2.7.0.0 for now since it has been widely reported as reliable.

That's the same version that I have. 2.7.0.0. I may switch to philz and try again.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
29th June 2014, 02:31 AM   |  #8  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 550
 
1,887 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Info
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceo.mtcl

That's the same version that I have. 2.7.0.0. I may switch to philz and try again


You posted earlier that you had the exact same problem as the OP. But now it turns out that you're not even using the same version of TWRP as he is.

If you missed that critical detail, it raises the real possibility that you might be using a TWRP build intended for a different device. And that would surely cause just the type of problem that you are having. Ensure that you are using a TWRP or Philz build that is intended for your exact handset.

.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank